Skip to main content

Curriculum Resources: Welcome

Library Collections

Finding Curriculum Resources in UCL Explore

When searching UCL Explore you can limit your search to teaching materials by choosing Curriculum Resources (under IOE Collections) from filters on the right of the results page.

Welcome to Curriculum Resources


This guide provides background information on the range of material in Curriculum Resources, the library's main collection of teaching resources. It contains material for use in schools from Early Years to Post-Compulsory education and includes:

  • Picture books in many formats, from board books to big books
  • Fiction from first chapter books to Young Adult fiction and A-level texts
  • Graphic novels
  • Collections of Poetry and Folktales
  • Examples of Reading schemes
  • A selection of Maps, Charts and Posters
  • Audiovisual material
  • Games, kits and flashcards
  • Textbooks covering main curriculum subjects and a variety of exam boards
  • Non-fiction background and wider reading books
  • Children's Book Corner modelling best primary classroom practice

To supplement the main areas of the collection we also have a Basic Skills collection and journals supporting classroom work.

As our intention is to reflect resources used in English schools, the bulk of the collection is from UK educational and children's publishers, with material also from mainstream charities, voluntary groups, and audiovisual producers. Our aim is to offer a wide selection of high quality and currently available material, however inclusion does not imply recommendation.

With a few exceptions material from the Curriculum Resources collection can be borrowed for eight weeks and renewed ten times.

Material removed from the collection when it is updated is considered for the Historical Textbooks and Classroom Teaching Materials Collection, one of our Special Collections stored off-site.

LibAnswers

If you have a question, why not tweet us @IOELibrary, text us on
+44 (0)20 3322 1810 or
   

Our online enquiry service, LibAnswers, is available:

Mon to Fri from 10.45 to 19.00 and Sat from 09.30 – 17.00 except during the Summer when it is available Mon to Fri 09:30-18:00.

The Children's Book Corner

   

The Children's Book Corner is on Level 4 near the group work rooms. Our Children's Book Corner LibGuide includes lists of the books in the Corner.