Skip to main content

Information for IOE Library visitors: Reference Membership

Reference Membership

Reference Membership provides:
- Access for reference and study to all collections.
- General reference/enquiry services.
- Self-service photocopying facilities.
- Walk-in access for ejournals via the UCL Explore terminals (no printing is available but articles can be saved onto your USB memory stick)

 

Applying for Membership

Applications for Memberships should be made in person during Library Welcome Desk hours:

Term Time Welcome Desk hours 
Monday – Friday: 08.30 - 19.00;               Saturday: 09.30 - 17.00;
Sunday & Bank Holiday: No Welcome Point / Membership Service

You will also be asked to provide proof of credentials to indicate status & eligibility for library use and proof of Home Address.

During busy periods we may not be able to print your library card immediately. In these instances we would give you a paper library ticket giving you immediate reference access, and your card would be ready for collection within one working day. If you need to borrow books on the same day, please email the IOE Library Membership team in advance, and we will pre-prepare your registration when possible to enable you to get your library card on your first visit.

If you have any questions about applying for Library Membership, please email the IOE Library Membership team

Free Categories - Reference Membership

a. Former students of UCL and IOE
Proof required: UCL Alumni Association Card or Graduation Certificate from UCL or IOE

Proof required: UCL ID card (Student who have just completed their course – before the graduation ceremony

b. Future IOE students, accepted for a course at the UCL Institute of Education

Proof required: Letter offering place on course at the UCL Institute of Education only

- IOE students who have interrupted their course of study

Proof required: IoE Student card and email from Registry informing of their interruption

c. Staff and students of the University of London - (We are a participant in the University of London Libraries Access Agreement. See this link for further details.)

Proof required: Staff or student ID showing status or letter of introduction

d. Partnership Schools & Colleges - All Staff employed at one of the PGCE Partnership Schools & Colleges

Proof required: Check Partnership School & College list and Staff ID card or letter of introduction from Partnership School

e. Academic staff and doctoral students of other universities and institutions of Higher Education in the UK and worldwide

Proof required: Current University Staff or Doctoral student (if course is not on Student card, a letter of introduction, in English, from Home institution will be requested).

f. Researchers requiring access to unique materials in the Archives and Special Collections - Application should be made in advance, stating which materials are required

Contact the Archives Team for accessing materials in the Archives Collections:

ioe.arch-enquiries@ucl.ac.uk 

Contact the Library Enquiry Desk for accessing materials in the Special Collections:

ioe.lib-enquiries@ucl.ac.uk

g. Approved educational organisations

Proof required: Proof of membership of an approved educational organisation

h. SCONUL Access Scheme (Reference): Full-time undergraduate students

Proof required: SCONUL Access card or SCONUL Access email and a current student card

i. SCONUL Summer Vacation Access - only available during UCL Institute of Education Summer opening hours 
Proof required: Current student card                 
 

Free tickets are valid until the 30th of September each year or until your course or contract ends, whichever comes first.

Paying Reference Membership

General Charges for 2017 - 2018:
1 day:         £7.00
1 week:     £25.00
1 month:    £45.00
6 months:  £80.00
1 year:     £135.00
 
Subsidized Reference Membership
£25 for 12 months
- Teachers, librarians, governors and professional staff working for UK schools, colleges or LEAs
Proof required: Letter of introduction from Headteacher, Principal or Chief Education Officer

Letters of invitation for Overseas Researchers

Due to recent restrictions from the International Office at UCL Institute of Education, we cannot prepare letters of invitation for overseas researchers.