Skip to main content

Archive Collections: Welcome

This guide lists all the collections held by the archives with links to further information about each collection.

Archive & Special Collections

Archive Collections

The archive collections date from 1797 to the present day. They cover all levels of education from pre-school and school through to further, higher, teacher and adult education, in formal, informal and experimental settings. We have collections on research, practice, policy and thought in education and related areas. They provide a rich resource for the study of education and wider social policy worldwide.

We have over 130 deposited collections, which have been donated by individuals and organisations related in some way to education, as well as the Institute Archive, comprising the records of the Institute of Education, from its creation in 1902 to the present day.

This guide provides an introduction to all our collections. To search by subject have a look at our range of research guides. For information on accessing collections see our guide to using the archives.

Images from the Archives

ABB/A/35/1

Open Plan Classroom at Eveline Lowe School

WF/4/249

Children at Kibbo Kift Camp

BFE/A/3/1

Service Children's Education Authority Publication, No. 19, 1980

RAY/1/13

Original handpainted artwork by Marian Ray: Atomic Diagrams

BF/1/3/4

Secondary School Children with Display about Decimalisation

FSC/3/1/47

Forest School Camps Programme 1993

For more information on...

Contact the archive team

Telephone us on:

020 7612 6983

or e-mail our dedicated enquiry service at ioe.arch-enquiries@ucl.ac.uk.

You can also write to us at:

Newsam Library and Archives
UCL Institute of Education
University College London
20 Bedford Way
London
WC1H 0AL