Skip to main content

International Education: Online Libraries

World Bank

The education arm of World Bank is a powerful global player aiming to reduce poverty and improve health, gender equality, peace, and stability around the world. It is a multilateral agency of 184 member countries composed the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (IBRD) and the International Development Association (IDA). Key offerings include information on international skills and education programmes, strategies and education statistics.

 

With UCL, we also have access to the World Bank eLibrary although access to full text yet although it is on a wishlist.  Word Bank Data is a part of the eLibrary and is made up of world development indicators (WDI), officially recognised, current and accurate data from around the world. Click here for more information about using the e-library or go to Databases to access the full range of resources in the library.

UNESCO

UNESCO has a range of sites devoted to education and development around the world.

Commonwealth iLibrary

The Commonwealth Secretariat’s publications are available online in a single research repository -- the Commonwealth iLibrary -- which contains books, chapters and working papers.

Planipolis at the IIEP

Planipolis is a portal of education plans and policies from UNESCO Member States providing a single entry to documents from various official sources. Planipolis is maintained by the IIEP Documentation Centre and is partly funded by EPDF (Education Programme Development Fund).

OECD iLibrary

 

OECD iLibrary

The OECD iLibrary gives IOE students and staff access to:

  • full text education books
  • the journal, Higher Education Management and Policy
  • OECD statistics

Anyone can now access OECD full-text content following the launch of Read editions which can be read online and are also shareable and embeddable.

Library users can also use the freely accessible content which includes:

  • OECD Factbook
  • Working Papers series
  • OECD Key tables 
  • full text education books
  • the journal, Higher Education Management and Policy
  • OECD statistics

UCL subscribes to the full OECD iLibrary which can be accessed here: http://www.oecd-ilibrary.org/. Sign in with your full credentials to get the full range of resources.

The Europa World of Learning

The Europa World of Learning is available through UCL Databases. You can search by keywords or browse by countries institutions or subjects. 

Open Data Research Network

The Open Data Research Network has been established to connect researchers from across the world working to explore the implementation and impact of open data initiatives. It is a joint project of IDRC and the Web Foundation.