Skip to main content

Using the Archives: Copying, copyright & publication

Information on how to access and use archive collections

Image from the Brenda Francis Archive

Photo of girls working in a home economics class, photo from the Brenda Francis Archive

Copying, copyright & publication

Copying Service
We can provide a limited copying service to researchers for the purposes of non-commercial research and private study. All orders are processed by members of staff for security and preservation reasons. We have a responsibility to ensure that our collections are safely preserved for the benefit of future generations, and copies will only be supplied if they can be made without risk of damage to the original. We do not photocopy photographs (although we can provide scanned copies), fragile items, rolled documents, bound volumes or documents containing private or sensitive information. For certain deposited collections the permission of the owner may also be required.


The charges for photocopying and scanning are:
• Photocopying – 30p/page
• Scanning –  £5.00/scanned image (plus £2.00 if supplied on CD)
• Postage and packaging –  £1.00


Orders for copies must be placed using the Copyright Declaration Form (pdf), which should be signed, clearly stating what items you would like copied. Arrangements can either be made to collect copies from the Archives or to have them sent to you once payment has been received. All orders will be completed within two weeks. There is a minimum £5.00 charge for remote orders for copying.


Digital cameras
Researchers are permitted to take photographs of materials using digital cameras. There is no fee for this. Please be aware that when taking images with a digital camera it is your responsibility to conform to current Copyright legislation and a Permit for Digital Photography must be completed.


Copyright and Publication
Researchers are reminded that the onus for satisfying the legal requirements of the Copyright Acts rests with them. Copyright in photographs and other artistic works is particularly stringent; it is illegal for us to make a copy of images without the copyright holder's permission. Should you wish to publish extracts from any copies you are provided with, or require scanned images of photographs, you are responsible for ascertaining the ownership of copyright and obtaining the necessary permission from the copyright holder. For further guidance on copyright legislation contact us at ioe.arch-enquiries@ucl.ac.uk. All enquiries regarding publication of items from the archives, including reprographics orders, must be placed using the Permission to Publish Form (pdf).


Citation and Quotation
Acknowledgement must be made in any published work to the UCL Institute of Education Archives, quoting the reference number(s) for individual documents. For example,
UCL Institute of Education Archives, ME/A/1/1.