Skip to main content

Ebooks: Welcome

Digital Library

 

Ebooks updates

JSTOR has recently announced that an increasing number of Open Access monographs across the Humanities and Social Sciences will be made available on its platform in the coming months.

More than a hundred titles are already available, from publishers such as UCL Press, Cornell University Press, University of California Press, and University of Michigan Press. See here for the current list of titles.

You will not need to register or log in to JSTOR to access them.

Ebooks at UCL Institute of Education Library

Using ebooks is a great way to access the information you need wherever you are. All of our ebooks are findable through UCL Explore, and you will only need your UCL log-in and password to access them.

We aim to support IOE courses by acquiring electronic copies of reading list resources whenever these are available. We also try to ensure that our most popular titles are accessible as ebooks as well as in print. If you need an ebook that we don't currently have, please get in touch using the online request form.

This Libguide will show you how to use ebooks from the different ebook providers you will encounter. While publishers and providers will allow you to print and copy from ebooks, remember that your usage is also subject to copyright law.

If you have any questions or problems that aren't answered here, please let us know, so we can solve them as soon as possible.

New (2016) Ebook Collections

Bloomsbury 2016 Collections

Early European Books Online Collections 6, 7 and 8

Edward Elgar 2015 and 2016 Collections

Elsevier 2017 Collections:

  • Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology
  • Pharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutical
  • Psychology

Emerald Social Sciences Book Series 1999-2016

Encyclopedia of Islam

Ovid medical e-books (new editions of previously purchased books):

  • 5 Minute Infectious Diseases Consult
  • 5-Minute Paediatric Consult
  • Behavioural Science in Medicine
  • Diseases of the Kidney and Urinary Tract
  • Fundamentals of Paediatric Orthopaedics
  • Handbook of Fractures
  • Imaging of Soft Tissue Tumours
  • Operative Techniques in Orthopaedic Paediatric Surgery
  • Operative Techniques in Sports Medicine Surgery
  • Rockwood and Green’s Fractures in Adults
  • Rockwood and Wilkins Fractures in Children
  • Science in Medicine
  • Washington Manual of Surgery
  • Wills Eye Manual

A selection of Oxford University Press reference books

  • Brewers Dictionary of Phrase & Fable
  • Oxford Companion to Archaeology
  • Oxford Companion to the Book
  • Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
  • Oxford Encyclopaedia of Ancient Greece & Rome

Oxford Scholarly Editions Online:

  • Nineteenth Century Poetry
  • Nineteenth Century Prose

Routledge Handbooks Online

Ebooks on Demand @UCL

This indicates a series of projects where users are directly involved in the acquisition of ebooks by UCL Library Services.

Current projects:

- Cambridge Books Online

- ICE (Institution of Civil Engineers)

- JSTOR

- Wiley Online Library

New Ebook Titles

Ebooks Help

UCL IOE Library Helpline

Library Level 4

Tel: 020 7612 6080

Text: 020 3322 1810

Twitter: @IOELibrary