Skip to main content

Information for External Visitors: Stacks

Stacks Fetch Service

Materials in Stacks are generally older, under-used or items that require special protection. These items are stored in library spaces on and off site. For this reason, items on the catalogue with a 'request from store' must be requested in advance and fetched by library personnel. The Stacks fetch service offers fetching from closed stores twice a day from Monday to Friday at:

  • 11.15am (online request must be placed before 10.45am)
  • 2.30pm (online request must be placed before 2.00pm)

Items can be requested in advance in one of these ways:

  • by making the request via the Library catalogue as below,
  • by going to the Library Enquiry desk and filling in the relevant form,
  • by emailing IOE LibAnswers with the whole catalogue entry (author, title, year and classmark), request date and personal details.

Items fetched from Stacks can only be used in the library. When you collect your Stacks material at the Library Enquiry Desk, your ID card will be kept there while you use the material in the library. If you require the material for another day, just tell the librarian and the item will be kept for another date.

Materials requiring Archives appointment

Some materials published before 1950 will require an Archives appointment. If necessary, an appointment will have to be made via the Enquiry desk. The Archives office is open from 9.30am - 5.00pm (Monday to Friday only), but exact times will have to be negotiated as time and space allows.

Off-site Stores

Some Stacks items are not available on site and may take a few days to fetch. Please go through the same procedures as above and you will be notified when the material has arrived.

Special Collections

The Newsam Library holds 27 Special Collections of books and pamphlets relating to education. These mainly historical collections of published books and documents (unpublished papers are held in the Archives). Most Special Collections are closed in terms of further acquisitions, but a few, such as the Official Publications Collection and the Historical Textbooks Collection, are still added to on a regular basis.

Special Collections materials and some materials published before 1950 must be requested in advance and will require arranging an appointment in Archives.

For more information, go to the Special Collections LibGuide.

Official Publications and DERA

The Library collects print and electronic official publications which can be found in different collections including  the open shelves in the Main Education collection on Level 5 or the Reference collection on level 4. However, most Official Publications are kept in our Official Publications collection in store available upon request. A classmark for Official Publications may look like this:

For more information about official publications, go the the Official Publications LibGuide.

 

 

DERA

Another source of official publications is DERA, Digital Education Resource Archive, which is searchable and freely available. DERA is a digital archive of documents published electronically by government and related bodies in the area of education. For much more information, go to the DERA LibGuide.