Skip to main content

Education in Literature Collection: Welcome

Library Collections

Education in Literature Collection

The Education in Literature Collection includes novels, plays, poetry and DVDs on the theme of education. The experiences of both students and staff in primary, secondary, higher and further education are explored.

All of the items in this collection may be borrowed by students and staff of the Institute of Education.

  • Books can be borrowed for 4 weeks
  • DVDs can be borrowed for 1 week
  • Some items are on a Course Reading List and are likely to be very popular. Where possible, as well as the standard 4 week loan, we have added additional 1 week loan copies of books and Overnight loan copies of DVDs.

The Education in Literature Collection is located on the 4th Floor of the Library. You will find the collection in the Library Teaching Room just to the right of the Group Study Rooms.

Featured Resource

For Christmas Chills look no further than The Perils and Dangers of this Night by Stephen Gregory. Christmas 1966 and 12 year old Alan Kerr is forced to spend the holidays  at his school, Foxwood Manor, with just the Headmaster and his wife for company.At first he is cheered by the unexpected arrival of an ex-pupil and his girlfriend. Gradually Alan realises that Martin Pryce is seeking revenge for some terrible past event. A heavy fall of snow isolates the school and it becomes a Christmas no-one will forget.

Titles in the Collection

Recommend a Resource

If you have a favourite novel,play or film set within a school, college or university please email me and we will consider it for inclusion in the collection.

LibAnswers

If you have a question, why not tweet us @IOELibrary, text us on
+44 (0)20 3322 1810 or
   

Our online enquiry service, LibAnswers, is available:

Mon to Fri from 10.45 to 19.00 and Sat from 09.30 – 17.00 except during the Summer when it is available Mon to Fri 09:30-18:00.

Stay Up To Date

We regularly write blog posts about this collection :