The Family Baines (Provenance)
Literacy Attainment
Becta Research Materials
This is the "Grenfell" page of the "Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
”Banner”
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ioe.ac.uk/specialcollections Print Guide Email Alerts

Grenfell Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About the Collection

Description
Capt. Francis H. Grenfell was appointed the first assistant superintendent of the Navy's Gymnastic Department in the early 1900s and was instrumental in getting the much admired Swedish system adopted by naval gymnastic schools. After leaving the Navy, he taught in schools (including Eton College) until 1909 when he became an H.M. Inspector of Physical Training for the Board of Education's new medical department. He wanted physical education to have a respected place in the curriculum, with fully trained teachers. He returned to the Navy during the First World War, but was released from service soon after its end, so that he could continue his work at the Board of Education.

He amassed an extensive collection of books on physical education in its broadest sense and donated it to the Board of Education in 1934, although items continued to be added until 1947, both by donation and purchase; a catalogue was compiled in 1935, and updated in 1985. The Board's successor, the Department for Education, deposited the Collection with the Institute in 1992.

The Collection consists of books and a few bound volumes of periodicals on physical education published in the late 19th and early 20th centuries; a lot of the material is in English, but a substantial proportion is in the various Scandinavian languages, French and German.

Size: 14 metres of shelving

Type/format: Books

Dates: c.1880 - 1940

Accrual policy: Closed


Location: 
Bedford Way

Access
Reference only. By prior arrangement with the Special Collections Librarian. Contact the Library Enquiry Desk in the first instance.

Searching
This collection is listed in the Library Catalogue.

Library and Archives, Institute of Education, 20 Bedford Way, London, WC1H 0AL
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip