Skip to main content

Friends of the Newsam Library and Archives: Home

Services

Joint Event with ICHRE 12th December 2017 14:00 –19:00

ICHRE termly symposium, Tuesday 12 December 2017, 2.00pm to 7.00pm

In association with the Friends of the Newsam Library and Archives

Venue: Library Teaching Room, Newsam Library, UCL Institute of Education

Throughout the afternoon there will be a small exhibition of material from the library’s School & College Histories collection, curated by Nazlin Bhimani.

2pm – welcome

2.10pm – guest keynote presentation
Nigel Watson (from Corporate Histories) will speak about his experience of writing the history of schools, colleges and universities. He has written many institutional histories, including books on North London Collegiate School, St Albans School, Lucy Cavendish College and the University of Durham.

Full programme and registration details can be found here.

About us

 

Who are the Friends?

The Friends of the Newsam Library and Archives support the future development of the Newsam Library and Archives as a unique resource for research in education, and especially its role in preserving the UK's educational heritage by acting as a national centre for archives and special collections.

Why join the Friends?

By becoming a Friend, you will join our network of supporters, who receive regular news of the Newsam Library and Archives, and contribute to the future development of our collections and services.

The benefits of membership include:
• A programme of meetings and visits, including talks and displays relating to library and archive activities
• A bi-annual newsletter
• Discounted membership of the Newsam Library and Archives
• The opportunity to contribute to preserving the UK's educational heritage

If you are interested in becoming a Friend please email us and we will send you further details. ioe.newsamfriends@ucl.ac.uk

Welcome

Archives and Special Collections

Click on the image to access the IOE Archives LibGuides

 

Click on the image to access the IOE Special Collections LibGuides