Skip to main content

Official Publications: The NUT Donation

Introduction

The aim of this guide is to highlight a substantial donation of published materials made by the National Union of Teachers to our Library last year, it explains the work that we have undertaken so far to ensure that the material is accessible and also outlines our plans for the coming months.

Information on how to gain access to some of the resources is also included in this guide, along with links to related material held in the library that may be of interest to researchers.

 

About the Donation

The donation of 380 pamphlet boxes from the National Union of Teachers was received in December 2016. Although we have not yet catalogued these items, we have spent the past year carefully de-duplicating and sorting a wide variety of publications. The donation contained a large amount of material published by the union and these items are our core focus at the moment. However, we have also retained items published by over 400 organisations who produced material in the fields of education, training and skills. In our view, this donation will not only provide a fascinating insight into the aims and achievements of the union but will also reflect the major education issues that influenced and informed the work of the National Union of Teachers.  

The NUT Donation

The donation includes publications dating from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day.

The publications in the donation represent the intellectual outputs of trade unions (including the NUT), special interest groups, political parties, charities, societies and professional associations.

Please refer to the List of Organisations for further details.

Information on the range of different publications included in the donation can be found in the Types/Format section of this guide. 

Our work on the donated materials thus far has allowed us to identify areas where the NUT was particularly active. The list below features some of the major themes that we have identified. Please contact us if you would like to consult NUT publications related to your area of research:

Academies Admission
Apprenticeships Assessment/Testing
Attendance Budgeting/ Funding/ Fees
Bullying/ Discrimination Curriculum
Disability/Equal Opportunities Discipline/ Exclusion
Early Years English as a Second Language
Grammar Schools Faith Schools
Health and Safety  Inspections
Literacy Mental Health
Numeracy New Teachers
Religious Education Rural Education
Staffing Salaries
School Buildings School Leaving Age,
School Meals Sex Education
Special Educational Needs  Staff Appraisal and Development,  
War Time Workload Management

There were over 380 pamphlet boxes in the donation and we have spent part of this year de-duplicating material which we already held in our collections. We have retained over 1100 items published by the NUT alone.

The NUT publications are now our core focus, and these will be made a cataloguing priority. In the meantime, researchers can contact us with enquiries related to these publications and where possible we will endeavour ro provide access to materials. Please see the Access section of this guide for further details.

At present, the items that we have retained are kept in our secure stores here at the Institute of Education Library. Due to the wide scope of this donation, which includes publications produced by hundreds of organisations across a range of subject areas, we have decided to house the donation within our existing collections. However, the cataloguing process will ensure that researchers will be able to identify the provenance of materials added to our collection via this donation.

For conservation reasons we will be housing publications in our stores rather than on the open shelves, but we are keen to ensure that researchers with an interest in the material can access our holdings at the earliest available opportunity and further details can be found in the Access section of this guide.

Access is provided on a reference only basis and by prior arrangement. Please contact Library Enquiries in the first instance and provide some information about your area of interest and the kind of resources that you are interested in viewing. We will then let you know if any of the publications in the donation may be suitable for your needs and arrange an appointment in our Reading Room. 

The items in this donation are currently uncatalogued and records cannot be retrieved using UCL Explore. However, you are invited to to refer to the List of Organisations and the Types/Format sections to get an idea of the material available to you. Please contact us if you would like to find out more and request access to any of the resources: information on how to do this is provided in the Access Section of this guide.

Loading ...

Find Out More

The wide range of publications that have been gifted to the Library by the NUT, combined with the wide range of topics that they cover makes this donation a particularly rich resource.

To offer a taster of what we are planning to add to our collection, we will feature some of the most interesting and esoteric items that we have come across so far in a series of blog posts. These will focus on NUT output first, followed by publications produced by other organisations. To stay up to date, please follow the Newsam Blog.

More on Trade Unions and Education

Follow this link for an overview of our catalogued NUT holdings.

Included in this list are two journals that the NUT produced - Secondary Education and the Education Review . Both of these titles are available on open access in the open journal stacks on Level 3 of the library.

You may also be interested in the National Union of Women Teachers (NUWT) Collection held in our Archives. There is a LibGuide which gives more detail on this fascinating collection. 

Images

The National Union of Teachers

The National Union of Teachers was founded as the National Union of Elementary Teachers (NUET) in June 1870 -  the same year that Forster's Education Act put measures in place to set up elected local School Boards to build elementary schools. In 1888, the union became the National Union of Teachers.

The union aimed to serve the needs of teachers and trainee teachers, campaigning to improve the pay, conditions and status of teachers as well as calling for improvements to improve the state education system. The 300,000 strong membership made it the largest teacher's union in Europe. 

On the 1st September 2017 the NUT amalgamated with the Association of Teachers and Lecturers (ATL) to form the National Education Union (NEU) with a combined membership of over 450,000.

Contact Us

Please email Library Enquiries if you would like to find out more about the NUT donation and the resources it includes. In order to better answer your query, please provide some information about the areas in which you are particularly interested.