The Family Baines (Provenance)
Literacy Attainment
Becta Research Materials
This is the "Welcome" page of the "Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
”Banner”
Last Updated: Apr 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.ioe.ac.uk/specialcollections Print Guide Email Alerts

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Text or Ask Us!

If you have a question, why not tweet us @IOELibrary, text us on 
+44 (0)20 3322 1810 or
   

Our online enquiry service, LibAnswers, is available:

Mon to Fri from 10.45 to 19.00 and Sat from 09.30 – 17.00 except during the Summer when it is available Mon to Fri 09:30-18:00.
 

Introduction

The Newsam Library holds 27 Special Collections of books and pamphlets relating to education. These are discrete, mainly historical, collections of published books and documents. Unpublished papers are held in the Archives.

The Special Collections vary in size and coverage. Some collections such as the History of Education Collection have been built up from a variety of sources. Others, like the Sir Fred Clarke Collection and F. H. Hayward Collection, are the personal libraries of individual scholars. There are also historical collections that concentrate on a particular discipline - for example, the Grenfell Collection on physical education and the Hayward Collection on moral education.  

Most Special Collections are closed in terms of further acquisitions, but a few, such as the Official Publications Collection and the Historical Textbooks Collection, are still added to on a regular basis.

Library and Archives, Institute of Education, 20 Bedford Way, London, WC1H 0AL
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip