Skip to main content

Special Collections: Angela W. Little

History of Education Sources

About the Collection

Description

The Angela W. Little Sri Lanka Collection is the personal collection of Professor Emerita Angela W. Little who undertook extensive research and published on education and society in Sri Lanka from 1975 to the present. Angela W. Little was Professor of Education and International Development at the Institute of Education from 1987 to 2010.  The collection was donated to the Library at the Institute of Education in July 2016. 

Scope
The collection includes c 500 books, pamphlets, booklets, and official publications dating from the early twentieth century to the present day. Most have been published in Sri Lanka by Sri Lankan authors and many are not readily available. 

Themes
Written by Sri Lankan and foreign authors these documents provide a wealth of information about the Sri Lankan education system, culture, economy and society, including:

  1. Education in Sri Lanka
  2. Primary Education Project Plans and Evaluations (co-financed by the Ministry of Education and external partners), Project plans, reviews (material of value to research students and researchers)
  3. Socio-economic and Political Development in Sri Lanka
  4. Statistics: Education, socio-economic and demographic
  5. Journal Issues and pamphlets covering Education, socio-economic and political developments (not otherwise kept by UCL/IOE library)
  6. Published bibliographies

Angela Little’s own works on Sri Lanka are catalogued.  You can search for these on the Library Catalogue Explore.

Size: c500 items

Type/format: Books, Pamphlets, Booklets, Official Publications, and some fiction.

Dates:  20th century (mainly from 1970s onwards though there are few items from the early part of the 20th century)

Accrual policy: Closed

Location
Endsleigh Gardens

Access
Reference only. By prior arrangement. Contact the Library Enquiry Desk in the first instance

Searching
This collection is NOT listed in the Library Catalogue as yet.  A list of the key items in the collection is included on this page.

About the Angela W. Little Collection of Education in Sri Lanka

Angela W. Little writes about how she amassed the collection on the UCL Institute of Education's blog, Newsam News.

Other Useful Guides

If you are researching education in Sri Lanka, you may also want to look at the IOE LibGuide on International Education especially the pages for Asia and Pacific regions.