Skip to main content

Special Collections: Hayward

History of Education Sources

About the Collection

Description

F.H.Hayward was an Inspector of Schools for the London County Council from 1905-1937. He was a supporter of the secularist movement, and a leading member of the Moral Instruction League, founded in 1897 to further ethical and civic teaching on a non-theological basis in schools.

The collection is Hayward's personal library, and covers a wide range of subjects. The collection most likely that it came from the London County Council Library at the Inner London Education as part of a larger donation in 1990 when the ILEA was abolished. According to Antony Daws (a former ILEA librarian who transferred to the IOE with several collections and who has now retired), a reference library was established in 1874 at the School Board for London (1870-1904). The School Board for London became the London County Council from 1904 to 1964 and then the ILEA from 1965 to 1990.

Since Hayward was an Inspector with the LCC from 1905 to 1937, it is very likely that his library (though not complete as his library was dispersed after his death according to Rosalind Rawnsley, author of a PhD thesis on Hayward published in 1998) was donated to the LCC in the first instance, and then found its way to the IOE when the transfer took place. Claire Drinkwater, another librarian (now retired) at the IOE whose responsibilities included the Special Collections, confirms that together with the textbooks, additional material was transferred from the ILEA in her article, on the Historical Textbooks Collection.

The Collection is reflective of the changes taking place in education from the establishment of state-funded education in the mid 18th century to the early 1950s. Religion, secularism, humanism, philosophy, moral education, psychology and history are the subjects represented in the collection. The Collection includes the works of key authors on education such as Locke, Comte and Herbart and contemporary educationists such as John Adams, A. C. Benson, John Dewey, Catherine Dodd, J. J. Fitch, Gould, E. Holmes and Spencer. There are also books on world religions including Hinduism, Judaism and Buddhism. There are also many books aspects of Christianity and spiritualism.  The works of Annie Besant, Steward Headlam (members of the London School Board at one time), Bernard Shaw and H. G. Wells also form part of the collection, as do the works of the early child Psychologists Hall and Luckens.  


Size: 6.5 metres of shelving

Type/format: Books

Dates: c.1875 - 1950

Accrual policy: Closed

Location:  Bedford Way

Access
Reference only. By prior arrangement with the Special Collections Librarian. Contact the Library Enquiry Desk in the first instance.

Searching
The collection has been catalogued and can be searched in the Library Catalogue.
 

About Hayward

  • Aldrich, R and Gordon, P. Dictionary of British educationists (1989)
  • Hayward, F.H., An educational failure: a school inspector's story (1938)
  • Venn, J. et al. eds., Biographical history of Gonville and Caius College, 4 (1912)
  • Obiturary in London Teacher (March 1954), 62.

PhD thesis on Hayward

The Library has a copy of Rosalind Rawnsley's PhD thesis from the University of Manchester, The Celebration Movement and the influence of J. F. Herbart on moral education in England through the work of Frank Herbert Hayward (1872-1954).  In this work, she provides a list of books from Hayward's collection on religion and education.  Hayward annotated many of his books and often attached press cuttings.  Some of these may be of interest to scholars.  The catalogue records indicate the items which have marginalia.

Rawnsley's thesis is available for download from the British Library's EThOS portal.

Useful Links

The IOE's Archives holds some correspondence between Gould and Hayward and there is a letter from Gould's daughter, Ramola Gould, to Hayward.

A selection of books and pamphlets by Hayward in the Newsam Library

MA Thesis on Hayward by Nazlin Bhimani