Skip to main content

Using the Archives: Access & location

Information on how to access and use archive collections

The archive reading room

The Archive collections can be accessed in our supervised reading room in the Newsam Library in the main building of the UCL Institute of Education on Bedford Way.

Access & location

Opening Hours

Our opening hours are 8.30-16.00, Tuesday to Thursday.

We are also closed on public holidays and other advertised institutional closures.

Booking an appointment

You must contact us in advance to book an appointment.

We need to know in advance:

  • What material you would like to view or your research topic;
  • The exact date(s) you wish to visit and approximate time you will arrive.

Please note that the Library has different access procedures.

Visiting the Archives

On the day of your visit you should report to the Membership desk in the Library on Level 4 of the Bedford Way Building.

The first time you use the Archives you will need to:

  • Provide a form of photographic ID, such as a passport or university ID card.

By signing the application and undertaking form you agree to abide by our reader rules.

Access Restrictions

Every attempt will be made to provide access to archive collections held, but exceptions may be made on the grounds of confidentiality, access restrictions made by depositors, or for conservation reasons.

Data protection

Access to personal data on living persons for research purposes is only allowed on the explicit understanding that the data are not processed to support measures or decisions with respect to particular individuals or in such a way that substantial damage or distress is, or is likely to be, caused to any data subject.  A Special Undertaking form is currently being drafted.

Contact the archive team

Telephone us on:

020 7612 6983

or e-mail our dedicated enquiry service at ioe.arch-enquiries@ucl.ac.uk.

You can also write to us at:

Newsam Library and Archives
UCL Institute of Education
University College London
20 Bedford Way
London
WC1H 0AL