Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic (BAME) Education Resources: Resources in London

100 Black Men of London:

100 Black Men of London was established in 2001 and became a registered charity in 2004. The 100 Black Men movement begun in New York City in 1963, when a concerned group of Black men came together to develop a local organisation to implement programmes designed to improve the quality of life in their community. The London group runs many different programmes including the Peer Mentoring Programme and several education programmes including the 100 Book Club and the Black History Challenge.

Bernie Grant Arts Centre:

The Bernie Grants Art Centre in Tottenham is cultural hub of events and activities. They run an promote courses, workshops, performances, festivals and exhibitions. The centre was established in 2007, in tribute to MP Bernie Grant (1944 - 2000), whose vision for a fairer Britain and a fairer world inspired him and others to embark on creating the space.

The Bernie Grant Archive is searchable online and is maintained at the Bishopsgate Institute in the City of London.

Black Cultural Archives (BCA):

The Black Cultural Archives building in Brixton.The Black Cultural Archives (BCA) was founded in 1981. In July 2014, they opened the heritage centre in Brixton, London. The BCA has strong community links and provides a learning space for both formal and informal education, additionally, they have a large collection of archives and a reference library.

Black History Studies Limited:

Black History Studies logo.Black History Studies is a social enterprise company which operates in the interest of the community by offering courses and events in Adult Education. Black History Studies aims to empower the African and Caribbean community and enable them to develop self knowledge and identity through Black History and Culture. Black History Studies aim to provide a wide range of courses and activities which will provide people with the opportunity to pursue their interest in Black History and Black Studies.

Brick Lane Circle (BLC):

Brick Lane Circle Logo.Brick Lane Circle (BLC) is an organisation working to help transform the intellectual landscape of the Bangladeshi community in the UK and discover and celebrate the shared common roots of Britain's diversity. It is a voluntary organisation with a wealth of resources and activities aimed at bringing people from different backgrounds and political divides together and informing a deeper understanding of problems and issues faced by the Bangladeshi community.

British Library:

British Library logo.

The British Library, as the legal deposit centre for UK publications (they receive a copy of every publication produced in the UK and Ireland), holds a wealth of resources. A bibliography of publications about Black British African-Caribbean and Asian British history, sociology and culture, all available from the British Library, can be found below.

Camden Council: Minorities Communities:

Use this useful too from Camden Council to find contacts for organisations and services focusing on ethnic or cultural community groups, offering services to them and representing them in a wide range of ways including campaigning, information and advice about employment, health, education, immigration, asylum, housing, welfare rights and training.

Croydon Supplementary Education Project (CSEP):

The Croydon Supplementary Education Project BME Resource Library and Meeting Room was set up to assist BME communities to explore their history, their cultures and their traditions, while promoting greater understanding of cultural diversity and racial harmony. It is a small library equipped with specifically chosen BME reading material & provides access to the Internet.

George Padmore Institute (GPI):

GPI Logo.

The George Padmore Institute (GPI) is an archive, educational resource and research centre housing materials relating to the black community of Caribbean, African and Asian descent in Britain and continental Europe. The GPI was founded in 1991 and is based in North London. The GPI maintain many significant collections, including the Black Education Movement Archive.

Karibu Education Centre:

The Karibu Education Centre has been serving the local community for over 30 years. It was originally founded as the Abeng Centre by the Rev. Tony Ottey in the 1970s and operated as an education provider, offering supplementary schooling and youth services to local children. The centre re-launched under a new name and new management, in 2003. Karibu, means 'welcome' in Swahili.

London Metropolitan Archives:

The London Metropolitan Archives holds a wealth of information on black and Asian people in London. They have produced a selection of helpful guides including one on Eric and Jessica Huntley, who founded Bogle L'Overture publications, one of the early publishers of BME resources in London.

National Archives:

The National Archives logo.

The National Archives is the official archive and publisher for the UK government, and for England and Wales. They are the guardians of some of our most iconic national documents, dating back over 1,000 years and the collection of over 11 million historical government and public records is one of the largest in the world. The collection of archives includes paper and parchment, electronic records and websites, photographs, posters, maps, drawings and paintings. The award winning resources for teachers and students include many resources celebrating the presence of black and asian communities in the UK.

National Association of Black Supplementary Schools (NABBS):

undefined

The National Association of Black Supplementary Schools (NABSS) has a wealth of resources for home educators and those looking to supplement Black history learning. In addition to their directory, NABBS have a schools directory and an events calendar.

Nehru Centre:

The Nehru Centre London logo.

The Nehru Centre is the cultural wing of the High Commission of India. In 1989-90, the year of the birth centenary year of Jawaharlal Nehru, the need was voiced for a centre in London which would help address the cultural aspirations of the Indian community and facilitate a sustained dialogue between Indian and British cultures. The Nehru Centre commenced its work in July 1992, with a programme to mark the centenary of the election of Dadabhai Naoroji to the House of Commons – the first entry of an Asian to that body. The Centre organises a wide range of cultural events on its premises, showcasing Indian music, dance and theatre, besides a range of activities aimed at strengthening and deepening intellectual dialogue. The centre hosts events include book launches, seminars and discussions, which are advertised on the Nehru Centre event page.

School of African and Oriental Studies (SOAS) Archives:

SOAS holds an impressive range of Archives and Special Collections. You can consult archives, manuscripts, photographs, maps, audio-visual material and rare books relating to Africa, Asia, the Middle East, and beyond. The collections at SOAS reflect the British interaction with Africa and Asia over the last 250 years, and include archives of missionary societies, NGOs and campaign groups, and business organisations, as well as papers of individuals, including diplomats, campaigners, and academics.

SCOLMA (UK Libraries and Archives Group on Africa):

SCOLMA Logo.SCOLMA (UK Libraries and Archives Group on Africa) is a forum for librarians, archivists and others concerned with African studies materials in libraries and archives in the United Kingdom. Through various activities and institutions, SCOLMA aims to provide the best possible service for academics, students and other researchers working in African studies.

Southall Black Sisters:

Southall Black Sisters is a not-for-profit organisation set up in 1979 to meet the needs of black (Asian and African-Caribbean) and minority ethnic women. They produce various reports and are active in trying to establish a better community by meeting the needs of ethnic women. Read their 'Multiculturalism in Secondary Schools: Managing Conflicting Demands report.

UCL Institute of Education Library- Newsam Library & Archives:

The UCL Institute of Education Newsam Library & Archives holds an impressive collection of resources including many about BAME education.

The Main collection on level 5 contains many books which may be borrowed or used for reference within the library; 'Education in Literature' on level 4 has a vast range of titles- both fiction and non fiction detailing educational experience and the Comparative collection on level 3 is concerned with education overseas. Materials in our special collections, such as the Official Publications collection, (education in the UK from the earliest origins of state education to date) can be requested in advance and used for reference. Check our library catalogue, Explore, for an indication of the materials available. Also check our archives catalogue if you are interested in unpublished papers, photographs and other original resources.

UCL Libraries:

UCL Logo.UCL Main Library, Science, Archaeology and Bartlett libraries all have holdings relevant to BHM studies, with the Main Library, in particular providing access to a wealth of resources relevant to the BME educational experience. The attachment below details the holdings within the different subject areas in addition to providing information about how to go about finding resources.