Skip to main content

About Nazlin: Background

About me

Biography

I am the Research Support and Special Collections Librarian at the UCL Institute of Education. I support the students at the Centre for Doctoral Education and researchers at the Institute and I am also in charge of the Newsam Library's Special Collections which have a focus on the history of education in England.

I have a Masters in Library and Information Science from the University of Western Ontario in Canada and a Masters in Music from the University of British Columbia, Canada.  More recently, I was awarded a Masters in the History of Education from UCL Institute of Education.  My dissertation focused on the writings of a schools inspector (HMI), F. H. Hayward (1872-1954), who was active between the two wars and who was passionate about moral education.  Hayward was a founding member of the Moral Instruction League and is the author of many books and pamphlets which are held in the IOE's Special Collections.  I am continuing my research on teacher training and teaching practice during the interwar years at doctorate level.

I also have a PGCertHE from Middlesex University where I was a Teaching Fellow.  I am a Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (FHEA) and in April 2016, I was awarded the Provost's Teaching Award at UCL. I have worked in different types of libraries, including special and academic libraries in different subject areas, supporting students and staff at all levels.  I was at the Royal Academy of Music and the BBC Music Library when it was part of Radio Three and at Middlesex University, I supported Film and Interactive Arts, Engineering and Information Science and Work-Based Learning. Before coming to the UCL Institute of Education, I was the College Librarian at Christ's College, Cambridge where I was responsible for both the working collection and the special collections and archives.

Research Summary

I have been involved in a number of externally funded research projects involving the study of user behaviours in online environments, search technologies and the cataloguing and publication of historical materials.  The most recent project was funding by JISC and involved looking at digital literacies in higher education. The findings from this project have been summarised at http://libguides.ioe.ac.uk/digital_literacies

I am interested in educational technologies, particularly their use in research and in promoting historical collections.  I often write for the Library's blog Newsam News and my last scholarly publication is a chapter on e-learners and libraries for the second edition of the Sage Handbook on Learning (2016). My research in the history of education focuses on the emergence of a curriculum for citizenship education that is based on character development and values education - subjects that are represented in the Institute's Special Collections.

Teaching Summary

I am a tutor on the Information and Literature Searching module which is offered to students registered on the MPhil/PhD and MRES programmes.  I also teach on the Professional Doctorate programmes -  the EdD (Home and International) and DPsyc programmes.

More recently I have been teaching on several new programmes at the Institute including the Diploma in Social Science Research (DipSSR) and an undergraduate programme that has focused on developing students' digital literacies. These students work on creating digital essays using some of the special collections held at the IOE. I have also collaborated with colleagues based at the IOE's Academic Writing Centre and held object-based learning workshops which use materials from the historical collections.