Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Baines Collection: Introduction

Archive & Special Collections

 

archive box icon

The Baines Collection

Coloured illustration from a book from the Baines Collection

Source:  Baines Collection No. 89 

Cat and Dog; or Memoirs of Puss and the Captain (1856)

Description
This collection of children's books originally belonged to the Baines Family, and was given in 1955 by Miss Eyre to the Ministry of Education, whose successor, the Department for Education, deposited the Collection with the Institute in 1992.

Although there are a few foreign language items, most of the books are in English. There are both story books and books of general knowledge prepared for children's recreation and instruction in the 18th and 19th centuries.

Size: about 200 items

Type/format: Books

Dates: c.1700 - 1920

Accrual policy: Closed

Location 
Bedford Way

Access
Reference only. By prior arrangement with the Special Collections Librarian. Contact the Library Enquiries (email: ioe.lib-enquiries@ucl.ac.uk) in the first instance

Searching
This collection is listed in the Library Catalogue.

Support

Question Mark icon You can now text your enquiry to +44 (0)20 3322 1810 

You can also post your question on LibAnswers, the Library's online enquiry service, tweet us @IOELibrary or contact us on Instagram @ioelibrary. Please note these services operate when the Help Desk is open.