Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archives and libraries
The Women's Library
Contains a number of collections with relevant material including the papers of Muriel Pierotti (NUWT General Secretary 1941 - 1961), papers of Teresa Billington-Greig, interviews with suffragists and suffragettes, records of the Equal Pay Campaign Committee and records of other organisations with whom the NUWT had links.
Institute of Engineering and Technology
Contains the collections of two organisations the NUWT corresponded and met with: The Women's Engineering Society; Electrical Association of Women
Museum of London
The Museum of London hold a banner created by the NUWT for campaign and demonstration purposes, along with 2 badges made for NUWT President's. This material is not on their online catalogue.
London Metropolitan Archives
Hold the records of London County Council, with whom the NUWT had a great deal of correspondence and interactions. Many of the other collections at LMA could also contain relevant information.
The National Archives
The records of the Department of Education are held at the National Archives.
The British Library
The British Library holds books, photographs and letters which may supplement the material in our collections including publications by the NUWT.
Modern Records Centre, Warwick University
This guide to resources for the study of the History of Education in Warwick University archives contains a number of collections which relate to the NUWT, including the National Union of Teachers, National Association of Schoolmasters and Association of Assistant Mistresses.