Skip to main content

National Union of Women Teachers (NUWT) Collection: Gallery

A guide to the National Union of Women Teachers Archive Collection and the variety of subjects covered in this.

About the gallery

A small selection of images from the National Union of Women Teachers collection.

All the images on this page are ©UCL Institute of Education Archives. 

If you would like to use images from the collection please get in touch with the archives (ioe.arch-enquiries@ucl.ac.uk). 

 

Female law student, 1918

Protest letter from the NUWT

Protest letter from the NUWT calling for the removal of legal barriers stopping women from entering the legal profession.  For more information on the case referred to in this letter please see the blog post.

Archive reference: UWT/D/1/50

NUWT members with campaign banners

 

Photograph of NUWT members standing in front of home-made branch banners, 1930s

Photograph of members of the NUWT with banners of the Birmingham, Wansdworth and Fulham branches, 1930s

Archive reference: UWT/G/2/54

 

NUWT equal pay handbill

Image of National Union of Women Teachers equal pay campaign leaflet

Archive reference: UWT/D/251/2

Festival of Youth

 

Image of a brochure for a National Festival of Youth held at Wembley Stadium, 1946

Brochure for a National Festival of Youth, taken from a folder of correspondence between the NUWT and the Cenral Council for Physical Recreation, 1946

Archive reference UWT/D/80/1

21st celebration card

Image of a home-made birthday card sent to NUWT Headquarters to celebrate 21 years in Cromwell Road headquarters, 1956

Birthday card sent to NUWT Headquarters for 'Coming of Age' celebrations to mark 21 years in their Cromwell Road headquarters, 1956

Archive reference: UWT/D/382/12

Rural education

 

Image of a letter from NUWT member to the General Secretary of the NUWT discussing rural caravan schools, 1931

Letter from NUWT member to Ethel Froud (NUWT General Secretary) discussing her experiences of caravan schools in rural areas, 1931

Archive reference: UWT/D/46/2.

Read our blog post about this file

 

Keeping Fit, publication

Image of a booklet on keeping fit for girls, written by a NUWT member Edith Crosby

'Keeping Fit', a publication written by Edith Crosby, a National Union of Women Teachers member

Archive reference: UWT/D/239/3

Russia, 1926

Photo of Teacher's Labour League visit to the Soviet Union, 1926

'Central Educational Workers Union, Palace of Labour, Consultation with Comrade Matushkin, President of Leningrad Education Workers Union' - group of teachers and union officials including Ethel Froud (NUWT) second from left, and Miss V Hunt (NUWT) bottom left corner, 1926

Archive reference: UWT/D/83/9

Women's Freedom League leaflet

Image of a Women's Freedom League leaflet, 1940s

Women's Freedom League leaflet with illustration by Olga Lehmann [1940s]

Archive reference: UWT/D/64/7

Read our blog post about this file