Skip to main content

International Education: Databases

International Education Databases

UCL subscribes to databases that are core to the subject of education.  Go to Databases A - Z to find the following:

The Australian Education Index (AEI), like ERIC and the BEI, is a database of education sources. All three databases can be searched on the ProQuest platform.

The AEI is a subscription database of resources relating to educational research, policy and practice. The focus is information published in Australia, but it includes research about Australian education published overseas. Coverage includes books, articles, conference papers, theses and reports since 1978. THE AEI is produced by the Cunningham Library and ACER.

ACER (Australian Council for Education Research)

ACER is a national, independent research body in Australia which aims to assist educational decision makers at all levels and to promote better outcomes for all learners.

The ACER website contains links to publications, research, tests, services and useful databases like the following:

British Education Index & Thesaurus

The British Education Index (BEI) provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education from sources mostly published in the UK. Publication types include:

  • Journal articles.
  • Theses and dissertations.
  • Conferences.
  • Symposia.
  • Meetings.
  • Books.
  • Reports.

For more information, visit our British Education Index LibGuide.

ERIC & Thesaurus
ERIC and Thesaurus logo
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a database of over 1.5 million references. Sponsored by the US Institute of Education Sciences and the US Department of Education, ERIC claims to be the 'world's largest digital library of education literature'.  ERIC holds some full-text materials free of charge. It also encompasses bibliographic records indexed since 1966 including journal articles, books, research findings, conference papers, technical reports and policy papers.

ERIC is available freely and via Proquest and EBSCO for UCL students and staff. To access the Proquest and EBSCO versions, plaese visit UCL Databases A-Z and search for "ERIC."

For more information on this database, visit our ERIC LibGuide.

The German Education Portal includes the following resources which are available free of charge:

  • German Education Index.
  • Document server pedocs (repository of electronic full text).
  • Metasearch across a number of databases (mostly free).
  • Subject Directory providing systematic information.
  • Access to some electronic texts.

SCOPUS is a multidisciplinary database including over 70 million records with content from over 5000 publishers covering:

  • Science.
  • Mathematics.
  • Engineering.
  • Technology.
  • Health and medicine.
  • Social sciences.
  • Humanities.
You can access SCOPUS from the UCL Databases page. Please visit the Scopus LibGuide for more information.
 

Sociological Abstracts covers international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social sciences. The database, with a backfile to 1952, provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 serial publications. It also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.

You can access the Sociological Abstract from the UCL Databases page. To learn more about this resource, visit Proquest's Sociological Abstracts LibGuide.

The Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) covers the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Databases included are:

  • Science Citation Index Expanded with Cited References (1970 onwards).
  • Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded with Cited References (1970 onwards).
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index with Cited References (1975 onwards).
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science edition (1990 onwards).
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science + Humanities edition (1990 onwards).

You can access Web of Science from the UCL Databases page. Visit our Web of Science LibGuide for more information.

The World Inequality Database on Education (WIDE) highlights circumstances like wealth, gender, ethnicity and location which play a role in shaping education opportunities. This UNESCO site draws attention to inequality in education across countries.