Skip to main content

International Education: Comparative & International

Comparative Education

The Institute of Education has long been interested in teaching and researching educational systems outside the UK. The IOE Library has always collected international material for various collections, especially for our Comparative Collection.

The Comparative Collection includes the Library's material on education systems outside the UK. It is classified by continent, country or region. Nearly 200 countries and regions are included in this collection. You can find all resources, both electronic and print, on UCL Explore.

Photograph of books being shelved on Level 5 of the Library

Overseas Statistics in the IOE Store includes annual reports and statistics of education arranged by country or region. Overseas Statistics can be found in UCL Explore by using "statistics of education" as part of your search.  Earlier materials (some of which date back to the 19th century) are in the IOE Store and listed only on the Overseas Statistics card catalog on level 3. All Overseas Statistics must be requested at least three business days before your planned visit. For more information about requesting items, visit our IOE Library Stores LibGuide.

If you'd like to find international education websites that feature statistics, visit International Education Links or our Statistics of Education LibGuide.

International Materials in Other Collections

While the Comparative Collection concentrates on education systems and practices in countries and regions, you can also find a vast range of international resources in other IOE Library collections.

Photograph of an issue of Compare: The Journal of the Comparative Education Society in Europe