Skip to main content

Using Journals: Electronic Journals

Accessing Electronic Journals

On campus

If you're working or studying on campus using a UCL networked computer you can access ejournals without any need to log in.  You can access ejournals in the following ways:

UCL Explore Use Explore to search for a specific journal title and find out whether it is available in the Library, in our Stores or Online. You can also search for journals by visiting Explore's dedicated journals page. 
Search engine Search any Internet search engine for a journal by journal name and go to full text.
Google Scholar Search Google Scholar for journal articles and follow links through to full text.
Databases A-Z Search in one of our education or social sciences databases for articles.  Follow links to full text.
Moodle       Follow a link to a journal article in Moodle to reach full text.
Publisher website    On campus you can search for journal publishers and get straight to full text of journals that UCL subscribes to.

Off Campus

If you're working outside UCL or you're using a personal, you will need to log into UCL Explore and access the journal from the catalog.  

UCL Explore Use Explore to search for a specific journal title and find out whether it is available in the Library, in our Stores or Online. You can also search on Explore's dedicated e-journal page.  Login using UCL username and password to access full text.
Google Scholar Search Google Scholar for journal articles using this special UCL Google Scholar link.  Where possible, follow Full Text from UCL.  Login using UCL username and password to access full text.

Databases

Search the Databases A - Z  for journals and journal articles and follow links through to full text. Login using UCL username and password to access full text.

Why am I being asked to pay for an ejournal article?

Do you keep running into paywall when searching? Here are our tips for avoiding paywalls and access the articles you need!

  • Search for articles on UCL Explore first. Going through Explore will allow you to directly access UCL's subscription to the article. 
  • Link Google Scholar to Explore. It will re-direct you to Explore, where you can access articles we subscribe to. You can find out more about linking Google Scholar to Explore on our Google Scholar LibGuide
  • Still can't get through? Contact the Interlibrary Loans team and they can get you a copy of the article from another library. There is a charge for interlibrary loans, but it is normally cheaper than buying the article yourself.