Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections - B
George and Judith BAINES (BA)
George and Judith Baines were both primary school teachers who pioneered new teaching methods in an open-plan environment in the 1960s-1980s. The majority of the collection relates to their work at Eynsham County Primary School.
Bernard BARKER (BAR)
Barker has been credited with being the first comprehensive student (1957-1964) to become a Headteacher of a comprehensive school (1980-1997). He worked as a headteacher for nineteen years before joining Leicester University. The collection comprises biographical materials and teaching resources developed by Barker. This collection is not catalogued
Basic Education Foundation (BEF)
The Basic English Foundation was established in 1947 to promote the use of Basic English an 'international language' developed by Charles Kay Ogden (1889-1957) for teaching English to speakers of other languages. After a controversial history, it finally wound up its activities in the 1960s.
Katherine BATHURST (KB)
Bathurst was an outspoken female Inspector of schools from 1896-1905. Her opinions and recommendations were often controversial and she was eventually asked to resign. She was also a member of the National Union of Women Teachers.
Leila BERG (LBE)
Leila Berg was a children's author, journalist and supporter of children's rights. She was influenced by Susan Isaacs and her interest in progressive education introduced her to the work of Michael Duane (Risinghill School, London), A S Neill (Summerhill School, Suffolk) and John Holt.
Basil BERNSTEIN (BB)
Bernstein joined the University of London, Institute of Education as a Reader in the Sociology of Education in 1962, and was made a Professor in 1967. Influential in the field of socio-linguistics his published works on Class, Codes and Control, have become classics in the field. This collection is not catalogued. There is a box list so please contact the archive for further information on access.
Lilian Flora BEST
Best worked as a teacher at Regent's Park Open Air Kindergarten. The collection comprises photographs of the school and students, and a pamphlet for the school, listing aims and subjects.
John Stanley BOYCE (BOY)
During the Second World War Boyce worked under John Newsom in northern Germany as part of the Education Branch of the military government. After the war he worked in local authority education departments in Hertforshire (again with John Newsom), West Sussex and Lancashire from 1945-1973.
British Association for International and Comparative Education (CES)
The Association was established in 1979 and aims to encourage the growth of comparative and international studies by organising conferences, visits and publications. In this capacity it supports the work of the Comparative Education Society in Europe.
British Families Education Service/Service Children's Education Association (BFE)
The British Families Education Service (later Service Children's Education) was established after the Second World War to provide schooling to the children of Service personnel stationed overseas. The BFES/SCE Association was founded to enable BFES teachers to keep in touch.
British National Conference on Social Work (CSW)
In 1957 the British National Conference on Social Work was held to discuss 'Children and Young People'. It was one of four national conferences held between 1950 and 1960.
Bullock Committee (BUL)
The Committee of Inquiry into Reading and the Use of English, chaired by Sir Alan Bullock, was appointed to consider all aspects of teaching the use of English, including reading, writing and speech. The final report was published in 1975 as 'A Language for Life'.
Charles Henry BURDEN (BDN)
Burden was a Headmaster who toured various schools in Canada and the USA as part of the Mosely Commission between December 1906 and April 1907. His mission was 'to ascertain their methods of teaching and to make note of the resources available'
Reverend Michael BURDEN (MB)
Burden was a teacher and Chaplain working in schools in the north of England during the second half of the twentieth century.
Burnham Committee (BUR)
The first Burnham Report on salary scales for teachers was published in 1919. Since then Burnham Committees have met to discuss various issues regarding salaries. This collection covers the period 1972-1987. This collection is not catalogued. Please contact the archive for more information.
James BRITTON (JB)
The collection comprises the papers of Britton mostly dating from his time at the Institute of Education. James Nimmo Britton was an educationalist who worked at the University of London, Institute of Education and Goldsmiths University. The collection includes correspondence, talks and presentations, research papers and teaching materials. This collection is not catalogued.
Tony BRANTON (TBR)
Catalogued records relate to the Records of the LIU [Laboratories Investigation Unit]. The LIU was part of the Architects and Buildings Branch. They designed laboratories for schools, colleges and universities in the UK and abroad from 1970s-1990s.
Interested in progressive education? Have a look at our research guide
The archives has a number of collections relating to comparative and international education, including the archives of academics, teachers and professional organisations working throughout the twentieth century. For further information have a look at our research guide.
Collection reference: UWT/D/83/9
Using archives for teaching
The Institute's archives can support teaching across all Key Stages, particularly in history, citizenship, geography, English, art and drama. For further information on how we can help provide teaching resources for use in the classroom contact the archives on 020 7612 6983 or at email@example.com