Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections - C
Cambridge Association for the Advancement of State Education (CAA)
The Association was formed in 1960 and provided a forum for people (mainly parents) to discuss educational policy. It inspired the establishment of other local groups.
Child Development Society (CDS)
The Society (1949-2002) was established by Dorothy Gardner. It provided a forum for the dissemination and discussion of research and educational thinking, particularly in relation to the young child.
Sir Fred CLARKE (FC)
Clarke was an eminent educationist holding posts in England, South Africa and Canada. He was Director of the University of London, Institute of Education 1936-1945 and sat on a number of committees including for the Colonial Office and British Council.
College of Preceptors (COP)
The COP (now the College of Teachers) was founded in 1846 by a group of private schoolmasters concerned about professional standards. It pioneered an examination and qualification system for secondary school teachers and was one of the first bodies to examine secondary school pupils of both sexes.
Comparative Education Society of Europe (CEE)
The Comparative Education Society of Europe (CESE) was founded in 1961 to encourage and promote comparative and international studies in education. It is a founding society of the World Council of Comparative Education Societies (WCCES). This collection is not catalogued. Please contact the archive regarding access.
Ebeneezer COOKE (CO)
Cooke was a drawing master interested in the theory and practice of art education. He taught in a variety of establishments, including succeeding Ruskin at the Working Men's College.
Peter CORNALL (PC)
Cornall worked as a teacher, headteacher, education officer and schools inspector from 1955-1991. Throughout his career he was committed to comprehensive secondary education.
Coombe Lodge (CL)
A small collection regarding Coombe Lodge Further Education Staff College (FESC) which began as a residential training college offering management courses for senior staff in further education in 1963.
Children's Rights Alliance for England (CRA)
CRAE began in 1991 after the UK ratified the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child in order to monitor the UK Government's commitment to upholding the document. CRAE aim to protect the human rights of children by lobbying government and others who hold power, by bringing or supporting test cases and by using regional and international human rights mechanisms.
Please note - This archive is not catalogued and is currently closed for collection management purposes. For further information please contact the Archives.
The voice of the individual in the archives
It can be difficult to understand the impact of policy on the individual and history can be dominated by the 'official record' of policy makers rather than those working in education. The archives has a number of collections that provide an insight into the experience of individuals giving researchers the opportunity to gain a better understanding of the ideas, views and work of teachers, practitioners, campaigners and volunteers. For further information on the importance of using biographical archives and the collections we have see our research guide.