Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections - E-F
Education in Human Rights Network (EHR)
The Network (1987-2005) was established to 'enable and encourage communication between people working in a variety of educational settings in promoting an awareness and understanding of human rights'.
Forest School Camps (FSC)
The Forest School Camps were formed in the tradition of the original Forest School, a progressive school in which children went on summer holiday camping hikes and learnt about survival skills and the environment. The height of the FSC's activity was during the 1950s.
Marina FOSTER (MF)
Marina Foster was born and educated in South Africa and came to the UK as a refugee in the 1960's. She worked as a teacher and advisory teacher for ILEA and played an important role in the development of ILEA's policy on multiethnic education. She was also an activist and campaigner for children's rights and against racial discrimination.
Brenda FRANCIS (BF)
Brenda Francis was a London County Council (LCC) / Inner London Education Authority (ILEA) advisory teacher in the field of domestic science. Her role involved providing advisory and inspection services in schools in order to meet the training and development needs of teachers.
Isabel FRY (FY)
Isabel Fry (1869-1958) was an educationist and social activist. She founded, and was headmistress of, two experimental schools: The Farmhouse School, Wendover, and Church Farm, Aylesbury. She was a prolific diarist and the collection contains all her diaries from 1878-1958.
Amelia FYSH (AF)
Fysh was a nursery teacher who specialised in teaching children with disabilities. She pioneered inclusive education for all children long before the publication of the Warnock Report (1978) and advocated the importance of creative and stimulating learning - particularly learning through play.
Effective Pre-School, Primary and Secondary Education Project (EPPSE)
The first major study in the UK to focus specifically on the effectiveness of early years education, the EPPSE project is a large-scale, longitudinal study of the progress and development of children from pre-school to post-compulsory education. It considers the aspects of pre-school provision which have a positive impact on children's attainment, progress and development. This collection is not catalogued.
Mary Fawcett (FAW)
Mary Fawcett was instrumental in the establishment of a local playgroup in Thorpe Hamlet, Norwich, in 1966. She maintained a series of scrapbooks about local playgroups and about the wider national context, including information about the PPA. She became involved in tutoring the Foundation Course for Playgroup Leaders in 1968.
Forest School Camps
Founded after the Second World War on the progressive ideology of the original Forest School and the Order of Woodcraft Chivalry, Forest School Camps provided summer holiday camps to help children learn about about survival skills and the environment. Each child was treated individually and adults were there to supervise or provide guidance, rather than as authoritative figures. Children learned many skills including cooking and woodwork and were taught "to know the world, to submit to the world and to change the world". They were organised into groups of Elves, Woodlings, Trackers and Pathfinders and subjected to Woodcraft tests and trials.
The collection dates from 1917-1997 and provides an insight into the work of the Camps as well as the ideology on which it was based. It includes camp log books, reports, diaries, photographs, oral histories, and material for children attending the camps including songbooks, dance manuals, and recipes. For further details have a look at the catalogue for this collection.
If you are interested in the youth movement we also hold the records of the Woodcraft Folk (partially catalogued, contact us for more details). The London School of Economics archives has the records of the Kindred of the Kibbo Kift.