Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections - G
Dorothy GARDNER (DG)
Gardner was a nursery and primary school teacher, lecturer and researcher in education and child development. She was a close friend and contemporary of Susan Isaacs and suceeded Isaacs as the Head of the Child Development Department at the University of London, Institute of Education.
German Educational Reconstruction (GER)
German Educational Reconstruction (GER) was established in 1943 to help German refugee educationists prepare for their post-war return to Germany. After the war it promoted Anglo-German relations. Members organised conferences, lectures, study groups, and visits; and published memoranda, pamphlets and textbooks.
General Teaching Council & General Teaching Council Trust (GTC)
The GTC was a pressure group and the GTC Trust was an educational charity. Work started in the early 1980s to push for the creation of a general teaching council for England and Wales. Both organisations were dissolved in 2001 after it was agreed to set up a Council for Wales (in 1998) and England (in 2000).
Girls' Day School Trust (GDS)
The Girls' Day School Trust (originally the Girls' Public Day School Company) is an independently run but centrally supported group of girls' schools initially created in 1872 to advance the education of girls in England and Wales.
Dorothy GLYNN (GL)
Glynn was an HMI (Her Majesty's Inspector of Schools) working in the mid-twentieth century. The collection comprises photographic slides of primary school classrooms and activities during the period 1955-1965. This collection is not catalogued
Frederick GOULD (FG)
Gould was a teacher interested in ethical and moral education working in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuey. He was involved in the work of a number of organisations and travelled to India and the USA.
Gabriel Goldstein (GG)
Materials relating to the development of Information Technology (IT) in English Schools from 1967 onwards.
Professor Norman Graves
Typed lectures by Graves, photograph of participants in the IGU-UNESCO Regional Workshop on the Teaching of Geography, Delhi, India, 9-17 Dec 1974
Also includes handwritten notes by Elisie Beaver of lectures on geography by James Fairgrieve (1870-1953; Lecturer in Methods of Teaching Geography and Science, 1912-1935; Tutor in charge of Colonial Department, 1927-1935; Reader in Education, 1931, with special reference to Methods of Teaching Subject; Geography; retired 1935). this collection is not catalogued.
Group Relations Training Association (GRT)
The GRTA (1967-c1995) was a national network promoting and supporting personal and organisational growth through group learning methods. This collection is not catalogued
General Teaching Council for England (GTCE)
The General Teaching Council for England (GTCE) was the professional body for teaching in England between 2000 and 2012. The GTC was established by the Teaching and Higher Education Act 1998 and was abolished in 2012, with some of its powers being taken over by the Teaching Agency, a new body, and an executive agency of the Department for Education. For access to this collection please contact the Archives.
Interested in post-war reconstruction? Have a look at our research guide