Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections - H
Hands family (WH)
William Joseph Hands was a teacher and His Majesty's Divisional Inspector of Schools for Derby during the 1920s. The collection comprises papers of his own education and work including for the Imperial Education Conference and International Education Society.
Nicholas HANS (NH)
Hans was born in Russia but left in 1919 to study at the Department of Education, King's College, London, becoming Reader in Comparative Education in 1948. He worked closely with Joseph Lauwerys to organise overseas trips and wrote on a wide range of topics, including comparative education, educational policy in Russia, and the history of Russian and eighteenth century education.
Jessie HARRISON (JFH)
Harrison taught as a teacher in London's schools from 1933 before moving to Singapore in 1948. Whilst in Singapore she worked for Alexandra Grammar School, a local school for children of British Service personnel. She left the school in 1959.
Ethel HATCHARD (EH)
Hatchard was a teacher working in the first half of the twentieth century. For most of her career she worked as an unqualified teacher before completing a course at one of the Emergency Training Colleges set up after the Second World War. Her collection provides an insight to balancing work and motherhood during this period.
Hatton was a teacher who joined the British Families Education Service (BFES) in Germany in 1946. In 1952 she returned to England and became the Headmistress of a Residential School for 'Educationally Sub-Normal' Girls in Kent. In 1976 she set up a similar school in Devon, which she ran until 1999.
Professor David HICKS
Collection of a geographer and proponent of fairness, and global peace. Dave Hicks worked at a number of schools and universities in the UK setting up courses and programmes with an emphasis on creating a more ecologically conscious, and fairer world. He was Education Officer for the Minority Rights Group in London, he set up a Centre for Peace Studies at St Martin's College, the World Studies 8-13 Project, and the Global Futures Project, taught modules on Education for Change, Education for the Future, Education for Sustainability and radical Education. In 1996 he became a professor. He wrote numerous books and articles on futures education and the global curriculum. Hicks retired in 2007. This collection is not catalogued.
Higher Education Careers Service Unit (CSU)
The CSU supports the work of careers advisory services in higher education. It works in partnership with university careers advisers to publish and distribute careers guidance throughout the higher education system and online.
David HILLIARD (FH)
Small collection of papers of Dr F.H. Hilliard who was the Senior Lecturer in Religious Education at the Institute of Education.
History in Education Project (HEP)
The History in Education Project was a major research project set up to look at the development of the teaching of history in English state schools from 1900 to the present day. The project team looked at archives across the country, gathered a wealth of primary and secondary source material and interviewed a wide range of former pupils and teachers, school inspectors, educationalists and secretaries of state for education.
History of Education Society UK (HES)
The HES UK was founded in 1967, 'to further the study of the history of education by providing opportunities for discussion among those engaged in its study and teaching'. It publishes the journals History of Education and History of Education Researcher and holds conferences and meetings.
Bernard HOLLOWAY (HOL)
Holloway gained experience working as a teacher (1946-1951) and in industry (1950-1960) before moving to working in careers guidance and counselling (1960-1989).
Brian HOLMES (BH)
Holmes was a science teacher before moving to a university academic role in Comparative Education, joining the University of London, Institute of Education in 1953 and becoming Professor of Comparative Education in 1975. He was instrumental in the development of a number of national and international comparative education societies. This collection is not catalogued
Find out more about the History of Education Society UK
Interested in technical and vocational education? Have a look at our research guide
The archives has a number of collections relating to comparative and international education, including the archives of academics, teachers and professional organisations working throughout the twentieth century. For further information have a look at our research guide.
Collection reference: UWT/D/83/9