Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections - J-K
Jack Kitching Archive (Records of the Board of Education Inspectors' Association)
Founded in 1919 as a direct consequence of the application of Whitleyism to the Civil Service, the Association was mainly concerned with salaries, pensions and conditions of service. The Association is still active today. The collection also includes the records of individual HMIs.
Trevor JAGGER (JAG)
Jagger was a teacher and lecturer in Education before becoming an Inspector of Schools for the Inner London Education Authority during the 1970s. Between 1979 and 1985 he was Chief Inspector of Schools for the ILEA.
Hilde JARECKI (HJ)
Jarecki came to England from Germany and was involved in bringing children safely to Britain via The Kindertransport (1938-1939). She was a key figure in the playgroup movement and worked as an Advisor for the London Playgroup Association. She is perhaps best known for her book 'Playgroups: a Practical Approach', published in 1975.
Journal for Moral Education (JME)
The Journal of Moral Education was inaugurated in 1971 in the UK with the support of the Social Morality Council, an organisation which promoted and campaigned for school curriculum developments in the areas of personal and social morality. The Journal sought to strike a balance between philosophical questions relating to moral education and research based on actual classroom experience.
Professor Ken JONES
From the seventies through till 1990 Ken taught in London secondary schools. Throughout this time he was active in one way or another in the politics of education, as a writer and researcher, and as an activist around issues of curriculum & pedagogy and trade unionism. He edited various publications (Radical Education, Socialist Teacher etc), and was from 1982 to 1990 a member of the national executive of the NUT. Ken is now a Professor at Goldsmiths University. His collection reflects his experiences.
King's School Educational Filmstrips (KNG)
Film strips from various educational filmstrip production companies, UK and worldwide. Many of these also have accompanying booklets with the notes that would have been used whilst the film was projected. 1940s-1970s
Rose KOSKY (KOS)
Rose Kosky was a teacher and member of the Barking Reading Project based at the London Borough of Barking and Dagenham during the late 1970s. It aimed to help teachers teach children with reading difficulties in the classroom rather than referring them to external experts.
Arabella Kurdi, then Pallister, went to Germany in February 1947 and worked as School Meals and Domestic Science Organiser for the Service. As such she travelled widely within the British Zone and visited many schools and different areas of the country
The voice of the individual in the archives
It can be difficult to understand the impact of policy on the individual and history can be dominated by the 'official record' of policy makers rather than those working in education. The archives has a number of collections that provide an insight into the experience of individuals giving researchers the opportunity to gain a better understanding of the ideas, views and work of teachers, practitioners, campaigners and volunteers. For further information on the importance of using biographical archives and the collections we have see our research guide.