Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections - L
Elsie LANE (EL)
Lane was apprenticed to a wigmaker in 1912 and had a long career as a hairdresser, wig-maker and teacher of wig-making, including in schools. The collection comprises autobiographical papers on education, training and careers. This collection is not catalogued
Joseph LAUWERYS (JL)
Lauwerys initially worked as a teacher before holding professorships around the world and working as a consultant and observer of educational conditions. He played an important role in the establishment of UNESCO and was involved in many different organisations for promoting international co-operation and understanding and comparative education, including the World Education Fellowship. Please note - This collection is not catalogued and is currently closed for collection management purposes. For further information please contact the Archives.
Leggatt Trust (LGT)
Mrs Connel Auld Leggatt created the Leggatt Trust in 1961 to provide financial assistance to the education and further education of those living in ex-British Africa. The Trust funds small grassroots projects such as school buildings or equipment, vocational training, and community projects.
Librarians of Schools and Institutes of Education (LISE)
LISE was formally established in 1954 but had held occasional conferences from 1951 onwards. LISE coordinated the acquisition and disposal policies of members' libraries and undertook bibliographical work. It was disbanded in 2011. This collection is not catalogued
Martin LIGHTFOOT (LI)
Lightfoot worked in local authority education services (including the ILEA) before joining Brunel University in 1983. He was particularly interested in education policy and public services, and race relations.
London Association for the Teaching of English (LAE)
LATE was formed in 1947 and its main objective was to provide a live forum for the exchange of ideas, for the practical study of problems connected with English teaching and for the dissemination of the results of group and individual work.
London History Teachers' Association (LHT)
Established in the 1950s the Association held meetings for history teachers working in secondary schools. It provided opportunities to discuss the syllabus, examinations and research, as well as meet up socially.
London Parents Ballot Campaign (LPB)
The Campaign was set up to ask the opinion of parents about the transfer of responsibility for education services from the ILEA to local authorities as planned in the Education Reform Bill 1988. There was a 55% return on the vote and 94% of respondents voted against the government's plans. However the ILEA was abolished in 1990.
James LUMSDEN (LUM)
Lumsden was appointed an HMI (His Majesty's Inspector) in 1931 as the first non-medical Inspector of Special Schools for handicapped children. He served on a wide range of committees and organisations and reviewed the work of the BFES in Germany after the Second World War. In 1965 was appointed Senior Lecturer at the IOE in the Education of Physically Handicapped Children.
League for the Exchange of Commonwealth Teachers (LECT)
An organisation founded in 1901 to encourage the forming of relationships between children living in commonwealth countries. The collection comprises mainly of record cards of UK and overseas teachers who exchanged through the work of the League, 1919-2001. There are a number of different series of records, each recording different information.
Lesley LONGLEY (LL)
Material collected by Lesley Longley during preparatory research for a PhD on the education of working class girls, focusing on the predominance of gender stereotyping and social stratification. Longley began by placing an advert in national publications and sent out a questionnaire to respondents who in turn provided retrospective accounts of their schooling in the 1920s and 1930s. Comprises handwritten correspondence, typescript accounts, original exercise books, text books and needlework samples as well as press cuttings and a file on the Burston School Strike.
The archives has a number of collections relating to comparative and international education, including the archives of academics, teachers and professional organisations working throughout the twentieth century. For further information have a look at our research guide.
Collection reference: UWT/D/83/9