Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections - M
Michael MARLAND (MAR)
Marland held a number of senior posts in London state schools, most notably as Headteacher at Woodberry Down School (1971-1979) and North Westminster Community School (1980-1999). He was a passionate proponent of the comprehensive ideal, inclusivity and good educational practice. He wrote and spoke on a variety of topics including inner-city and inter-cultural education, school management, curriculum planning, pastoral care and the role of the arts in education.
Bruce MARTIN (MA)
Martin was an architect who joined the Architects' Department at Hertfordshire County Council after the Second World War. Under the direction of the Council's Education Officer, John Newsom, it embarked on 'The Hertfordshire experiment', a large building programme designed to provide many new primary schools for the County. Architects adopted new building techniques and materials and moved towards a child-centred philosophy transforming school design.
Nancy MARTIN (NM)
Martin joined the University of London, Institute of Education English Department in 1944 and worked alongside Jimmy Britton and Harold Rosen. Together they pioneered new theoretical work in language and learning. She was a founding member of both the London Association for the Teaching of English in 1947 and the National Association in 1964. There is a box list for this collection. Please contact the archives for further information.
David and Mary MEDD (ME)
David and Mary (nee Crowley) Medd were eminent school architects. Both worked at Hertfordshire County Council after the Second World War before joining the newly created Ministry of Education, Architects and Building Branch (ABB) in 1949. Both held strong views on child-centred learning and were influential in shaping the philosophy of the ABB.
Ian MICHAEL (IM)
Born in 1915 Michael was appointed the first Vice-Chancellor of the University of Malawi in 1964. He also undertook research into the history of the teaching of English. This collection is not catalogued
Eileen MOLONY (EM)
Molony was a BBC television producer who produced the series 'The Expanding Classroom' (1969) which provided an insight into schools implementing recommendations of Children and Their Primary Schools (the Plowden Report).
The Moot (MOO)
The Moot was a private discussion group convened in 1939 by J.H. Oldham (1874-1969) in order to consider postwar social reconstruction within a Christian framework. It was composed of eminent philosophers and intellectuals such as T.S. Eliot, Karl Mannheim, R.H. Tawney and Sir Fred Clarke. Membership overlapped with the Council of the Churches on the Christian Faith and the Common Life.
Mother Goose Award (MGA)
The Mother Goose Award was established in 1979 for 'the most exciting newcomer to British children's book illustration'. Its aim was to encourage children's book illustrators at the beginning of their careers by drawing serious critical attention to their work and to encourage children's book publishers to continue to foster new talent in the field of illustration for children. This collection is not catalogued
Kate MYERS (MYE)
Myers has held a number of positions in higher education. Prior to this she was Project Manager of the Schools Make A Difference project in the London borough of Hammersmith & Fulham, a pastoral head in an ILEA comprehensive school, ILEA co-ordinator of the Schools' Council's Sex Differentiation Project, an advisory teacher, director of the SCDC/EOC Equal Opportunities Project, and a senior inspector in the London Borough of Ealing.
Interested in school architecture? Have a look at our research guide
The voice of the individual in the archives
It can be difficult to understand the impact of policy on the individual and history can be dominated by the 'official record' of policy makers rather than those working in education. The archives has a number of collections that provide an insight into the experience of individuals giving researchers the opportunity to gain a better understanding of the ideas, views and work of teachers, practitioners, campaigners and volunteers. For further information on the importance of using biographical archives and the collections we have see our research guide.