Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections - P-Q
Horace PANTING (HP)
Panting was an East London science teacher from 1935-1977. Throughout his teaching career he took a keen interest in school sport, both at school and local sports associations.
Joseph PAYNE (PA)
Payne was a teacher working in London and Surrey in the middle of the nineteenth century. He was a critic of many aspects of English society including education, particularly boys' public schools and elementary education. He was committed to education for girls and women and was a founding shareholder of the Girls Public Day School Trust (GDST) and founding member of the College of Preceptors.
Richard PETERS (PE)
Peters was born in India in 1919 but moved to England as a child. He studied and worked at the Birkbeck College and held Visiting Professor positions in Australia and the USA. In 1962 he joined the University of London, Institute of Education as Professor of Philosophy of Education. He retired in 1982. This collection is not catalogued
Philosophy of Education Society of Great Britain (PES)
The Philosophy of Education Society of Great Britain (PESGB) was founded in 1964 under the presidency of Professor Louis Arnaud Reid. Its aim is 'to promote the development and teaching of the rigorous philosophical study of educational questions'. It holds conferences and meetings and publishes a journal and policy-related pamphlets.
Bridget Horatia PLOWDEN (PL)
Plowden was Chair of the Central Advisory Council for Education (England), 1963-1966 and chaired its Committee of Enquiry into Primary Education. The committee's report, 'Children and Their Primary Schools' (widely known as the Plowden Report) which promoted progressive education was published in 1967.
Polytechnics Council for the Education of Teachers (PCE)
The Council was founded in 1976 to provide a national forum for the exchange of information, opinions, experiences and ideas on teacher education as it concerned polytechnics. Each polytechnic sent a senior member of staff as a representative to the Council which discussed policy formation and a wide range of other issues. This collection is not catalogued
Pre-School Playgroups Association / Pre-School Learning Alliance (PLA)
The Pre-School Playgroups Association was established in 1962 after one mother set up her own playgroup a year earlier in response to the lack of government support. It received funding from the Nuffield Foundation and, by 1966, from the Department of Education and Science. In 1995, after organisational changes, the Pre-School learning Alliance was established and continues to provide pre-school childcare. This collection is not catalogued
Programme for Reform in Secondary Education (PRI)
The Programme was established in 1975 as a pressure group campaigning for 'a fully comprehensive system of secondary education'. It held conferences, meetings and workshops, published pamphlets and a newsletter and participated in debates in the press and broadcast media. Influential members included Harry Rée, Maurice Kogan, Caroline Benn, Gabriel Chanan, Margaret Maden and Maurice Plaskow. It officially wound up its activities in 1994. This collection is not catalogued
Role of Language in Education (RLE)
The Role of Language in Education (ROLE) course was started at the IOE in the early 1970s. It was a diploma course aimed at practicing teachers of all levels. Teachers were released from their jobs to study the course full time, and was run by Alex McLeod and Margaret Spencer. The course was concerned with the role of language in learning. It considered language and mental development of the individual; language and culture; two roles for language - participant and spectator; spoken and written language; present state of general linguistic studies and its application to teaching; language in schools; standards and measurements of achievement. It is believed the course ended in around 1990. This collection is not catalogued.
Sport and Education
Horace Panting's archive includes an excellent collection of school sports memorabilia on cricket, football, boxing, athletics and swimming. Items include annual programmes of events, handbooks, scorecards, souvenir booklets and annuals. Covering the period 1914-1993 the collection is an important record of the history of children's sport in London during much of the twentieth century. Have a look at the catalogue for the collection on our online cataogue.
Interested in progressive education? Have a look at our research guide