Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections - R
Bernarr RAINBOW (RW)
Rainbow researched, wrote and published extensively on music education and historical musicology. He worked as a Music Master in schools and in 1952 became Director of Music at the teacher training College of St. Mark and St. John, Chelsea. He later became Head of Music at Kingston Polytechnic retiring in 1978.
Marian RAY (RAY)
After the Second World War Ray established her own company providing film strips and accompanying booklets to schools and colleges. She created all the artwork herself and the filmstrips were used in more than 70 countries. As computers and school television became more popular educational filmstrips were considered outdated and the company closed in the 1980s.
This collection is in the process of being catalogued. Some records are available online but this is not the entire collection. Please contact us for further information.
Margaret READ (MR)
Read (1889-1991) was an early woman social anthropologist and influential in shaping the British government's attitude to post-war colonial education. She pioneered the application of social anthropology and ethnography to the education and health problems of developing countries.
Harry REE (HR)
Ree was a teacher and headteacher before becoming the first Professor of Education at York University. He was a strong proponent of comprehensive education during the 1960s and 1970s and was active in a number of pressure groups including the Programme for Reform in Secondary Education.
Louis Arnaud REID (LR)
Reid was the University of London, Insitute of Education's first Professor of the Philosophy of Education (from 1947-1962). He was closely involved with the Philosophy of Education Society of Great Britain and wrote and lectured widely on aesthetics and the arts. This collection is not catalogued
Religious Education from Information Technology (RE)
The REfIT Project was formed in November 1997 to look at how information and communications technology would affect the teaching of Religious Education. Led by Jeremy Taylor, the Project Team consisted of primary and secondary teachers, lecturers, examiners and IT experts. It held its last meeting in November 2002. This collection is not catalogued
Margherita RENDEL (RL)
Rendel worked in central and local government and taught in further and adult education before moving to higher education. Her research interests included discrimination against women, especially in higher education, within a human rights framework. She presented evidence to parliamentary committees, served on various committees and was actively involved in wide range of national and international organizations.
Please note - This archive is not catalogued and is currently closed for collection management purposes. For further information please contact the Archives.
Cynthia REYNOLDS (CR)
Reynolds was an Inner London Education Authority (ILEA) Advisory teacher for Home Economics. Her role involved providing advisory and inspection services in schools in order to meet the training and development needs of teachers. She was also interested in child development and pre-school education and wrote widely on these subjects.
Harold ROSEN (ROS)
Archival material relating to Rosen's work in education, including material relating to his work at the IOE. This collection is not catalogued.
Role of Language in Education (RLE)
Comrpises annual diaries collated by students completing the course between 1971 and 1990. Access to this collection is restricted inline with the Data Protection Act 1998. Please contact the Archives for further information.
The archives has a number of collections that include teaching resources including filmstrips and transcripts for BBC radio programmes:
Marian Ray (RAY) designed and painted the artwork for educational filmstrips that were used in schools throughout the world. The collection includes all her original artwork and filmstrips used to teach a range of subjects including biology; light, colour and sound; chemistry; physics (including atomic energy); natural history and mathematics. This collection is partially catalogued and available on the online catalogue.
Duncan Taylor (DT) was a producer and programme editor in the Schools Broadcasting Department of the BBC from 1947 to 1972. The collection comprises annotated scripts of programmes transmitted on BBC Radio and BBC Radiovision. A full catalogue for the collection is available on the online catalogue. The library also has the cassettes, visual aids and teaching notes from Radiovision programmes.
We also have the filmstrip collection which was used at King Edward VI school, Birmingham (KNG). The collection includes films created by a range of organisations including the USA War Office, the BBC and Picture Post, as well as students' own recordings.