Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections - S
Rosemary SASSOON (SA)
Sassoon specialises in the educational and medical aspects of handwriting and is the creator of the Sassoon Primary Typeface. Since 1987 she has worked in partnership to develop a range of typefaces that are now used worldwide. This collection is not catalogued
Christian SCHILLER (CS)
Schiller was a teacher, HMI (Her Majesty's Inspector), lecturer and an important promoter of progressive ideals and child-centred teaching in primary education working during the mid-twentieth century.
Schools Curriculum Award (SCA)
The Award was established in 1982 'to celebrate curriculum design and teaching'. With an emphasis on the achievements of the individual school, it aims to put 'the school at the heart of the community' by awarding schools with a broad and balanced curriculum enriched from the local community and environment.
Please note - This collection is not catalogued and is currently closed for collection management purposes. For further information please contact the Archives.
Schools Council for Curriculum & Examinations (SCC)
The Schools Council was established in 1964 by the Secretary of State for Education. It was a non-directive organisation with membership from a wide range of educational bodies, including teachers' organisations. It provided leadership in curriculum, examination and assessment development across all subjects.
Please note - This archive will be closed until February 2020 for collection management purposes. For further information please contact the Archives.
Russell SCOTT (RS)
Scott was a promoter of international languages and alphabet reform. He learned Esperanto, Ido (an offshoot of Esperanto) and Sprechspur (Speech-Tracing), a phonetic alphabet used in Germany for teaching young children to read. In 1955 he founded the Phonetic Alphabet Association to introduce Speech-Tracing into British schools. He also wrote an International Language for Scouts in Esperanto, which was published in 1952.
Harold and Pamela SILVER (SV)
During the 1980s Harold and Pamela Silver undertook research into British and American educational strategies against poverty in the 1960s and 1970s. As part of their research they interviewed a wide range of educationists and policy makers in both Britain and the USA. This collection is only partially listed. What has been listed is available on the online catalogue but for full details of the scope and content please contact the archives.
Please note - This archive is closed until February 2020 for collection management purposes. For further information please contact the Archives.
Brian SIMON (SIM)
Simon was a teacher and Professor of the History of Education at Leicester University. He is probably best known for his 4 volume history of the English Education System from 1780-1990 (a standard text today), and his continued campaigning for equal secondary opportunities for all through comprehensive schooling.
R T SMITH (SM)
R T Smith was an HMI (Her Majesty's Inspector of Schools) working in Wiltshire during the 1970s and 1980s. The collection relates to the work of an Inspector in rural England, guidance for teachers and the curriculum.
Nigel SPEARING (NS)
Spearing was a teacher working in South West London from 1956-1970 including at Wandsworth School. He was also an active member of the Labour Party and was elected MP for Acton (1970-1974) and Newham South (1974-1997). He was Secretary of the Parliamentary Labour Party Education Group, 1971-1974.
Arthur SPORNE (SP)
Sporne was a pupil of a school of the British and Foreign Schools Society before working as a teacher from 1911 to 1954. The collection comprises his reminscences of his education experience as a pupil and teacher in the first half of the twentieth century
Society of Teachers Opposed to Physical Punishment (STO)
STOPP (established 1968) was a pressure group which campaigned for the abolition of corporal punishment in UK schools and other institutions. It lobbied government officials, parliament, the churches, local education authorities, and teachers' organisations. After corporal punishment was abolished in all state-supported education in the UK in 1986, the Society wound up its affairs. This collection is closed for cataloguing. Please contact the archivist fo further information.
Denis Herbert STOTT (DS)
Stott was an educational psychologist who worked on delinquency, behavioural problems, child and adolescent development, and learning difficulties from the 1940s-1970s.
Using archives for teaching
The Institute's archives can support teaching across all Key Stages, particularly in history, citizenship, geography, English, art and drama. For further information on how we can help provide teaching resources for use in the classroom contact the archives on 020 7612 6983 or at firstname.lastname@example.org
Interested in child psychology? Have a look at our research guide