Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Projects - Children's Writing & English Composition (WRI)
In the early 1960s James Britton, Nancy Martin and Harold Rosen of the Institute of Education collaborated on a project examining the marking of GCE English 'O' Level compositions. This led them to conduct further research into the development of children's writing abilities and two further projects followed between 1966 and 1976. The first project was a developmental study of how children's written language becomes differentiated during the years 11-18 and involved the collection and systematic analysis of samples of writing from secondary school pupils. The second project investigated the practical and educational implications of that research in collaboration with teachers. This collection is not catalogued
Universities Council for the Education of Teachers (UCE)
The UCET was created in 1966 by the merger of the Conference of Heads of University Departments of Education (CHUDE) and the Conference of Institute Directors (CID). The Council provides a forum for discussion and contributes to education policy.
Sir Toby WEAVER (WVR)
Weaver worked as a teacher and in local education provision before joining the Ministry of Education in 1946. He was involved in the established of the Emergency Training Scheme for teachers after the Second World War, the reorganisation of schools under the comprehensive system and advising Ministers on the implementation of the Robbins Report. He retired in 1973.
Sophia WEITZMAN (SW)
Weitzman was a teacher, historical researcher, and lecturer. In 1939 she was appointed lecturer in history at the University of London, Institute of Education, and was Reader in Education from 1956 until her retirement in 1963.
WHITE family (WF)
The collection comprises the papers of three generations of the White family. Winnie Nicolls was a teacher who, in 1916-1917, founded The Garden School, which was based on principles of love, freedom, brotherhood, cooperation and service. Her sister, Mary Louisa White worked as a music teacher and invented the 'Letterless Method' of teaching music to beginners.
World Education Fellowship (WEF)
The WEF's (originally the New Education Fellowship) central focus has been on child-centred education, social reform through education, democracy, world citizenship, international understanding and the promulgation of world peace. The central organisation is based in the UK but branches were spread across the world.
Ronald WILSON (WIL)
Wilson was a prominent educationist who devoted his life to the advancement of international adult education in UK and Europe.
Material relating to the work of Peter Williams in the area of international education. This collection is not catalogued.
Comprises letters of thanks to S H Wood written in 1953 when he stepped down as Chair of the German Educational Reconstruction (GER). Wood was chairman of the Home Division [of the British Council] and wanted to do something to relieve civilian refugees especially those from Germany.
World Studies Trust (WST)
The World Studies Trust is an educational charity established in 1988 to 'develop and support work in the formal education sector which promotes the knowledge, attitudes and skills which young people need in order to practice social and environmental responsibility in a multicultural society and interdependent world'.
Interested in progressive education? Have a look at our research guide
The archives has a number of collections relating to comparative and international education, including the archives of academics, teachers and professional organisations working throughout the twentieth century. For further information have a look at our research guide.
Collection reference: UWT/D/83/9