Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using the Archives: Access & location

Information on how to access and use archive collections

The archive reading room

The Archive collections can be accessed in our supervised reading room in the Newsam Library in the main building of the UCL Institute of Education on Bedford Way.

Access & location

SERVICE UPDATE - 24TH SEPTEMBER 2020

Opening Hours

The IOE Library has reopened after our Covid-19 closure. To ensure that the space is safe for students and staff to use, we've made some changes to the space and to our procedures.You can find out more about accessing the IOE library on our reopening page

We are aiming to open the Archives Reading Room on Tuesdays and Wednesdays 11.00am-2.45pm. Safety procedures including quarantining of material, social distancing, wearing of face coverings and increased hand hygiene will be in place in order to provide safe access to the collections.  For more information, please contact us on ioe.arch-enquiries@ucl.ac.uk.

Booking an appointment

If you would like to visit the archives, please email us on ioe.arch-enquiries@ucl.ac.uk. 

Enquiries

We continue to work from home most of the time, but are still open for enquiries at ioe.arch-enquiries@ucl.ac.uk.

Our online catalogue can help you begin your research.

We will do all we can to answer your enquiry as best we can from off-site.  We do have a selection of material scanned so please contact us if you have something specific that you want.

Access Restrictions

Every attempt will be made to provide access to archive collections held, but exceptions may be made on the grounds of confidentiality, access restrictions made by depositors, or for conservation reasons.

Data protection

Access to personal data on living persons for research purposes is only allowed on the explicit understanding that the data are not processed to support measures or decisions with respect to particular individuals or in such a way that substantial damage or distress is, or is likely to be, caused to any data subject.  A Special Undertaking form will need to be signed.

Contact the archive team

Telephone us on:

020 7612 6983

or e-mail our dedicated enquiry service at ioe.arch-enquiries@ucl.ac.uk.

You can also write to us at:

Newsam Library and Archives
UCL Institute of Education
University College London
20 Bedford Way
London
WC1H 0AL