Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Basil Bernstein archive: At the IOE

Guide to the archive collection of Professor Basil Bernstein

In the archive

Please contact the archives for further information about the Basil Bernstein collection.

 

Records of the Institute of Education

The archives also hold the records of the Institute of Education covering the period of Basil Bernstein's employment. It includes his staff file, and files relating to the work of the Sociology of Education section.

 

Papers of Sir Fred Clarke

Sir Fred Clarke was an influential figure in the development of teacher education, colonial and comparative education and he also promoted the application of sociology to educational theory.

 

Papers of Miriam David

Miriam David is Professor of Sociology of Education here at the Institute of Education.  A Professor for over 20 years she has a world class reputation for her research on gender, families, social diversity and inequalities in education, including lifelong learning and higher education.

 

 

In the library

The library has 37 books either written, or co-authored by Bernstein. A full list can be found on the library catalogue.

There are a wide range of books in the library about Professor Bernstein. Here is a selection of the most recently-published ones:

Contact the archive team

Telephone us on:

020 7612 6983

or e-mail our dedicated enquiry service at ioe.arch-enquiries@ucl.ac.uk.

You can also write to us at:

Newsam Library and Archives
UCL Institute of Education
University College London
20 Bedford Way
London
WC1H 0AL

You might also like...