Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Jack Kitching Archive: Jack Kitching Archive: Records of the Board of Education Inspectors' Association

An introduction to the Jack Kitching Archive

History

Archive of the Board of Education Inspectors' Association, named after Jack Kitching who was an HMI (Her Majesty's Inspector of Schools) from 1973-1982 and subsequently Honorary Archivist of the Association.

Founded in 1919, the Association was affiliated to the Association of First Division Civil Servants (FDA) and its Executive acted as the staff side of the Inspectorate Whitley Committee. Its main concerns were therefore salaries, pensions and conditions of service, although it also dealt with the function and activities of HMIs.

In 1945 it changed its name to the Association of Her Majesty's Inspectors of Schools (England and Wales) (AHMI) and in 1973 it amalgamated with the Association of First Division Civil Servants (FDA). Today the organisation is still affiliated to the FDA, a professional and union alliance for the UKs senior public servants, and continues to represent Retired HMI, widows and widowers.

The archive is growing with additions collected and collated by the Association.

The Collection

This collection broadly covers various aspects to do with the daily work of Her Majesty's Inspectors (HMIs) and the functions of the Inspectorate more generally. As there are a large amount of personal papers relating to individual HMIs, this collection also provides insight into the opinions and attitudes of HMIs. A large potion of the catalogue relates to the research and publication of a monograph by Stuart Maclure, entitled The Inspectors' Calling - HMI and the Shaping of Educational Policy, England and Wales, 1945-1992, which gives a detailed history of the Inspectorate in the post-war period until 1992 when the Office for Standards in Education (OFSTED) was established in its place.

The archives have been collected and collated by the Association of Her Majesty's Inspectors in England and Wales which represents Retired and Former HMI, Widows and Widowers. This organisation is still active and affiliated to the First Division Association, a professional and union alliance for the UKs senior public servants.


The collection is divided into three sections:

1. Board of Education Inspectors' Association Records: Organisational materials

2. Historical Records: Research materials for The Inspectors' Calling publication, including a large collection of historical accounts by individual inspectors

3. Personal Archives: Various papers collected by individual HMIs

 

Types of material in the collection:

Annual reports, minutes and papers of the Executive Committee and Divisional Committees, reports and memoranda, 1920-1992; lists of Divisions, Districts and staff, issued by the Education Department, 1871-1946; material gathered for a post-war history of the Inspectorate; collected personal papers of individual HMIs.

Visit the archive catalogue

Image from the Archives

KIT/2/3/7/1 HMI Series: Matters for Discussion 11 - A View of the Curriculum, 1980

KIT/2/3/7/1 HMI Series: Matters for Discussion 11 - A View of the Curriculum, 1980

Image from the Archives

DES, Inspectors' Bulletin (from the KIT archive)

KIT/2/3/2 - Inspectors' Bulletin, New Series: 45, July 1965

Subject Guide

Contact the Archives Team

Telephone us on:

020 7612 6983

or e-mail our dedicated enquiry service at ioe.arch-enquiries@ucl.ac.uk

You can also write to us at:

Newsam Library and Archives
UCL Institute of Education
University College London
20 Bedford Way
London
WC1H 0AL