Skip to main content

Teaching Practice in Higher Education: Journals

Education Journals

 image of active learning in higher education       image of assessment and evaluation in higher education       image of higher education journal      image of higher education quarterly     image of innovative higher education       image of diversity in higher education        image of review of educational research       image of studies in higher education     image of teaching in higher education

A-Z of Journals

Academic Exchange Quarterly welcomes submissions that contribute to effective instruction and learning regardless of level or subjects. Papers derived from doctoral study, presented at conference/symposium/workshop, or original research conducted under a grant or fellowship are also welcomed.

Active Learning in Higher Education is an international, refereed publication for all those who teach and support learning in Higher Education and those who undertake or use research into effective learning, teaching and assessment in universities and colleges. The journal has an objective of improving the status of teaching and learning support as professional activity and embraces academic practice across all curriculum areas in higher education.

Adult Education Quarterly is a scholarly-refereed journal committed to advancing the understanding and practice of adult and continuing education. The journal strives to be inclusive in scope, addressing topics and issues of significance to scholars and practitioners concerned with diverse aspects of adult and continuing education. AEQ publishes research employing a variety of methods and encourages the submission of innovative and provocative scholarship informed by diverse orientations. AEQ aims to stimulate a problem-oriented, critical approach to research and practice, with an increasing emphasis on interdisciplinary and international perspectives.

The American Journal Of Distance Education (AJDE) encourages the submission of articles about methods and techniques of teaching at a distance, about learning, and about management and administration but also encourages authors to write about policies, theories, and values that drive distance education. Articles should be based on research, although all methods and approaches to research are welcome. Authors are advised to ensure that their work is appropriately grounded in a review of existing literature. Submissions are accepted with the understanding that they will be subject to review and editorial revision and that they neither have been nor will be published elsewhere. AJDE is the internationally recognized journal of research and scholarship in the field of American distance education. Distance education describes teaching-learning in a review of existing literature. Submissions are accepted with the understanding that they will be subject to review and editorial revision and that they neither have been nor will be published elsewhere.

Arts and Humanities in Higher Education publishes articles, reviews and scholarly comment relating to the arts and humanities in higher education serving the community of arts and humanities educators internationally. Expertly edited, rigorously peer-reviewed and with a truly international outlook and application, Arts and Humanities in Higher Education is a must-have resource for the many institutions supplying courses within the wide scope of the arts and humanities. The journal publishes significant opinion and research into contemporary issues of teaching and learning critical to all educators and researchers in this far-ranging area.

Assessment And Evaluation In Higher Education This is an established international refereed journal which publishes papers and reports on all aspects of assessment and evaluation within the various disciplines representative of higher education. The purpose of the journal is to help advance understanding of assessment and evaluation practices and processes, particularly in the contribution they make to student learning, and to course, staff and institutional development. Assessment & Evaluation in Higher Education welcomes pragmatic, research-based or reflective studies which help to illuminate the everyday practice of assessment and evaluation in higher education. The journal is aimed at all higher education practitioners, irrespective of discipline, and sets out to provide readily accessible, up-to-date information about significant developments within the field, with a view to the sharing and extension of evaluated, innovative practice.

Assessment Update is dedicated to covering the latest developments in the rapidly evolving area of higher education assessment. It offers all academic leaders up-to-date information and practical advice on conducting assessments in a range of areas, including student learning and outcomes, faculty instruction, academic programs and curricula, student services, and overall institutional functioning.

Australasian Journal of Educational Technology This is a refereed journal publishing research and review articles in educational technology, instructional design, educational applications of computer technologies, educational telecommunications and related areas. AJET invites submissions of short features (up to 1000 words) and articles (up to 7500 words). Original contributions are welcome from writers in any organisation in any country, and membership of a supporting society is not a requirement for submissions.

Australian Educational Computing is the journal of the Australian Council for Computers in Education (ACCE). Subscription is complimentary to members of affiliated computer education groups Australian Educational Computing is the refereed journal of the Australian Council for Computers in Education (ACCE) and is published twice a year. Members of affiliated state computer education groups receive the journal. Other residents of Australia who wish to receive Australian Educational Computing should join the appropriate state computer education group as listed below.

British Educational Research Journal is interdisciplinary in approach, and includes reports of case studies, experiments and surveys, discussions of conceptual and methodological issues and of underlying assumptions in educational research, account of research in progress, and book reviews.

British Journal of Educational Studies This journal publishes scholarly, research-based articles on education which draw particularly upon historical, philosophical and sociological analysis and sources. It provides: Discussions of educational policy and educational issues that draw on the findings of research; articles that review policy developments outside the UK, acknowledging the significance of cross-national policy influences; contributions from many academic disciplines and a variety of perspectives; the most comprehensive book review section of any education journal published in the UK with, on average, sixteen reviews per issue

British Journal of Educational Technology provides readers with the widest possible coverage of developments in educational technology globally, and is the primary source for academics and professionals in the expanding fields of education, training and information technology.

The Canadian Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (CJSoTL)the official, trans-disciplinary, peer-reviewed, electronic publication of the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education. CJSoTL seeks to advance the scholarship of teaching and learning in Canadian post-secondary institutions. It therefore provides an avenue for a wide range of educators, including faculty members, administrators, academic librarians, educational developers, learning resource specialists, and graduate students, to discuss ways of enhancing student learning experiences through systematic inquiry into teaching and learning in all disciplines.

 

Canadian Journal of Higher Education CJHE is an open-access publication of the Canadian Society for the Study of Higher Education and supports English or French manuscripts. The Journal's primary focus is publishing research-based manuscripts on topics that address, and are relevant to, the Canadian higher education system and its structures, processes, and diverse communities. The aim of the Journal is to promote Canadian-based and international comparative research relating directly to the Canadian higher education context. 

 

The Canadian Journal of Learning and Technologyis a peer-reviewed journal that welcomes papers on all aspects of educational technology and learning. Topics may include, but are not limited to: learning theory and technology, cognition and technology, instructional design theory and application, online learning, computer applications in education, simulations and gaming, and other aspects of the use of technology in the learning process. Manuscripts may be submitted either in English or in French. Includes Research, Literature Reviews Papers, Critical Scholarship , and Position Papers.

Change (previously Change in Higher Education)  is a magazine dealing with contemporary issues in higher learning. It is intended to stimulate and inform reflective practitioners in colleges, universities, corporations, government, and elsewhere. Using a magazine format rather than that of an academic journal, Change spotlights trends, provides new insights and ideas, and analyzes the implications of educational programs, policies, and practices. Over the past few years it has included articles on trend-setting institutions and individuals, innovative teaching methods, technology, liberal learning, the curriculum, the financing and management of higher education, for-profit and entrepreneurial higher education, faculty, the changing needs and nature of students, the undergraduate experience, administrative practice and governance, public policy, accountability, and the social role of higher education. We encourage you to submit articles—whether brief expressions of a point of view (750 to 1,500 words) or more extended articles of from 2,500 to 5,000 words—on one of those topics or on others of current importance to higher education.

College Teaching is a unique, cross-disciplinary journal, focuses on how teachers can improve student learning. Each issue includes practical ideas and new strategies for successful teaching. Both new and veteran faculty appreciate the scope of CT’s rigorously refereed articles on classroom research, student assessment, diversity, student-centered instruction, and accountability within the academy. An especially popular page, The Quick Fix, presents easy-to-implement techniques and tips that work. Special sections integrate the best and latest scholarship on teaching such subjects as writing, science, and mathematics. For teachers and administrators determined to enliven the teaching/learning process, CT brings inspiration to college teaching.

Comparative Education Review  CER was  founded in 1957 with the aim of investigating education throughout the world and the social, economic, and political forces that shape it. CER is the official journal of the Comparative and International Education Society (CIES).

Computers & Education Journal Topics covered by reviewed articles: Competence Development in Higher Education, Interactive Learning Environments , Learning Management Systems , Technology: Strategic Issues, Tools for Communication and Collaboration.

Currents in Electronic Literacy is a peer-reviewed journal that encourages submissions that take advantage of the hypertext and multimedia possibilities afforded by our World Wide Web publication format, as well as articles concerning the use of emergent electronic technologies. To this end, articles with graphics, sound, and hyperlinks submitted as HTML documents are accepted.

Currents in Teaching and Learning is a peer-reviewed electronic journal that fosters exchanges among reflective teacher-scholars across the disciplines. Published twice a year, Currents seeks to improve teaching and learning in higher education with short reports on classroom practices as well as longer research, theoretical, or conceptual articles, and explorations of issues and challenges facing teachers today.

Curriculum Journal An international peer-reviewed journal that publishes original contributions to the study of curriculum, pedagogy and assessment. Papers reporting empirical studies and theoretical analyses from a range of perspectives, including philosophical and historical, are welcome. The journal particularly welcomes papers that include attention to the implications for policy and practice that arise from theoretical and empirical work.

Education Review publishes reviews of recent books in education, covering the entire range of education scholarship and practice. Education Review is made available to the public without cost as a service of the College of Education at Arizona State University and the Michigan State University Libraries. All submissions are refereed by the Editors.

Educational Evaluation and Policy Analysis EEPA publishes manuscripts of theoretical or practical interest to those engaged in educational evaluation or policy analysis, including economics, demographic, financial, and political analyses of education policies; syntheses of previously completed policy studies, evaluation theories, and methodologies; results of significant evaluation efforts; retrospective views of evaluation studies, and book reviews related to educational evaluation and policy issues.

Educational Research Educational Research has a broad scope and contains research studies, reviews of research, discussion pieces, short reports and book reviews in all areas of the education field. The wide coverage allows discussion of topical issues and policies affecting education institutions worldwide. Subjects Educational Research has recently covered include: Assessment; education policy; students’ attitudes; study support; social deprivation; special educational needs; school culture; teachers’ image of themselves; and bullying.

Educational Technology (ISSN 0013-1962) Aim: Educational Technology addresses varied aspects of the use of technology in teaching and learning, and includes a research section which publishes original studies of technology in diverse educational settings. Articles are especially encouraged that address the contexts in which educational technology supports learning by employing alternative inquiry approaches.

Educational Technology & Society seeks academic articles on the issues affecting the developers of educational systems and educators who implement and manage such systems. The articles should discuss the perspectives of both communities and their relation to each other. Educators aim to use technology to enhance individual learning as well as to achieve widespread education and expect the technology to blend with their individual approach to instruction. However, most educators are not fully aware of the benefits that may be obtained by proactively harnessing the available technologies and how they might be able to influence further developments through systematic feedback and suggestions. Educational system developers and artificial intelligence (AI) researchers are sometimes unaware of the needs and requirements of typical teachers, with a possible exception of those in the computer science domain. In transferring the notion of a 'user' from the human-computer interaction studies and assigning it to the 'student', the educator's role as the 'implementer/ manager/ user' of the technology has been forgotten.

EDUCAUSE Quarterly is a practitioner's journal about managing and using information resources in higher education. It is published by EDUCAUSE four times a year. Articles published in the magazine are referenced in such national indexing and abstracting services as ERIC, Computer Literature Index, and Higher Education Abstracts. EDUCAUSE Quarterly includes articles (written by professionals in the field and peer-reviewed) that relate to planning, developing, managing, using, and evaluating information resources in higher education. Information resources encompass technology, services, and information. In general, EDUCAUSE Quarterly articles deal with the subject of campus information resources from a management point of view. The journal offers feature articles sharing campus experiences; columns dealing with current issues (including national policy issues and campus management issues); articles in the "good ideas" department, viewpoint pieces, recommended reading; and a centerfold story focusing on an EDUCAUSE member campus's information resources organization and planning strategies.  You will need to register in order to get access to the content on the EDUCAUSE site.

EDUCAUSE Review is the general-interest, bimonthly open access magazine published by EDUCAUSE. With a publication base of 19,500, EDUCAUSE Review is sent to EDUCAUSE member representatives as well as to presidents/chancellors, senior academic and administrative leaders, non-IT staff, faculty in all disciplines, librarians, and corporations. The magazine takes a broad look at current developments and trends in information technology, what these mean for higher education, and how they may affect the college/university as a whole.

Effective Teaching is an open access online journal devoted to the exchange of ideas and information relevant to college and university teaching in North Carolina. Although North American and focused on Northern Carolina, it is a useful resource for some of the typical issues to do with teaching in further and higher education.

The e-Journal of Instructional Science and Technology (e-JIST) has now merged with the Australasian Journal of Educational Technology.  The back issues of the journal are still available

Electronic Journal of e-Learning provides perspectives on topics relevant to the study, implementation and management of e-Learning initiatives. The journal contributes to the development of both theory and practice in the field of e-Learning. The journal accepts academically robust papers, topical articles and case studies that contribute to the area of research in e-Learning.

The European Educational Research Journal  A peer-reviewed scientific journal interested in the changing landscape of education research across Europe. The EERJ publishes education research papers and special issues which include a reflection on how the European context and other related global or regional dynamics shape their educational research topics.

European Journal of Education The prime aims of the European Journal of Education are: To examine, compare and assess education policies, trends, reforms and programmes of European countries in an international perspective; to disseminate policy debates and research results to a wide audience of academics, researchers, practitioners and students of education sciences; and to contribute to the policy debate at the national and European level by providing European administrators and policy-makers in international organisations, national and local governments with comparative and up-to-date material centred on specific themes of common interest.

European Journal of Higher Education Topics of particular interest to EJHE, among others, include those related to mechanisms and forces of regional integration; to the experience of newer member countries of the European Union, in Central and Eastern Europe; to the role of supra-national organizations; and to the peripheral influence of European higher education systems, such as in Turkey, central Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa.

European Journal of Open and Distance and e-Learning The journal is open access and primarily, but not exclusively, draws on European sources and authors for content. It intends to cover all sectors within education and training, by both level and field (eg from K1-12 (according to the British system), and from training through to Higher Education). It wishes to promote the work of both researchers and practitioners in education, and the public and private sectors.

Games and Culture: A Journal of Interactive Media is a quarterly international journal (first issue due January 2006) that aims to publish innovative theoretical and empirical research about games and culture within the context of interactive media. The journal will serve as a premiere outlet for ground-breaking and germinal work in the field of game studies. Games and Culture's scope will include the socio-cultural, political, and economic dimensions of gaming from a wide variety of perspectives, including textual analysis; political economy; cultural studies; ethnography; critical race studies; gender studies; media studies; public policy; international relations; and communication studies.

The Harvard Educational Review (ISSN 0017-8055) is a scholarly journal of opinion and research in education. Its mission is to provide an interdisciplinary forum for discussion and debate about education's most vital issues. Since its founding in 1930, the Review has become one of the most prestigious journals in education, with circulation to policymakers, researchers, administrators, and teachers. Each year, the Review covers a wide range of topics of current concern in education. Each quarterly issue of the Review is book length, containing a variety of articles, essays, and book reviews.

Higher Education Higher Education publishes articles that represent significant advances –conceptually, theoretically or methodologically–in the international higher education literature on the topic concerned. It welcomes both empirical studies on higher education which may involve cross-national, cross-sectoral, or relatively large data-sets (e.g. draw on data from several institutions or data over an extended time-span), and smaller-scale research and scholarly papers that provide considerable insights and advancements in our understanding of higher education.

Higher Education in Europe Higher Education in Europe is a quarterly review published on behalf of the European Centre for Higher Education (CEPES), UNESCO. It is a scholarly publication dealing with major problems and trends in contemporary higher education. It presents information, interpretations, and criticism in regard to current developments in the field. While focussing primarily on Europe and North America within the context of the other activities of the Centre, it regularly features contributions from other regions of the world as well.

Higher Education Policy Higher Education Policy is an international journal for advancing scholarly understanding of the policy process applied to higher education through the publication of original analyses, both theoretical and practice-based, the focus of which may range from case studies of developments in individual institutions to policy making at systems and at national level. It encourages contributions that make explicit comparison between systems of higher education and is theme based, involving a common focus or combining articles which individually contribute to an overall topic.

Higher Education Quarterly Higher Education Quarterly publishes articles concerned with policy, strategic management and ideas in higher education. A substantial part of its contents is concerned with reporting research findings in ways that bring out their relevance to senior managers and policy makers at institutional and national levels, and to academics who are not necessarily specialists in the academic study of higher education. Higher Education Quarterly also publishes papers that are not based on empirical research but give thoughtful academic analyses of significant policy, management or academic issues.

Higher Education Research and Development Higher Education Research & Development informs and challenges researchers, teachers, administrators, policy-makers and others concerned with the past, present and future of higher education. The journal publishes scholarly articles that make a significant and original contribution to the theory, practice or research of higher education. We welcome theoretical, philosophical and historical articles and essays that address higher education in any of its dimensions. Equally, we welcome empirical higher education studies, which employ qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methodologies including big data. All articles must propose fresh critical insights into the area being addressed and be appropriately framed for an international audience.

Higher Education Review What is post-school education for? Should it continue in ‘autonomous’ or ‘service’ traditions? What is its responsibility to society? Who is to get post-school education? Should it extend to all adults, and what can this mean in practice?
What should post-school education consist of? Is it bound to be conservative in content or method? How can innovation be encouraged? How is post-school education to be organised? What should be the relationship between individual and institutional freedom and public accountability? What are the implications of all these questions for those working in post-school education? How should they be paid? What should be their conditions of service?

Higher Education, Skills and Work-Based Learning The editorial policy of the journal is to facilitate relevant and rigorous national and international debate, research and practice that is impactful.  The journal is targeted at academics researching in the area of higher level skills, training providers and work based learning practitioners who provide or support the delivery of higher level skills, those who direct policy at institutional and national levels and those whose learning is the focus of this effort.

Innovate: Journal of Online Learning is a bimonthly, peer-reviewed online periodical (ISSN 1552-3233) published by the Fischler School of Education and Human Services at Nova Southeastern University . The journal focuses on the creative use of information technology (IT) to enhance educational processes in academic, commercial, and government settings.

Innovative Higher Education is a refereed scholarly journal with a distinguished and internationally known editorial review board. Its editorial goals are: To present descriptions and evaluations of innovations and provocative new ideas with relevance for action beyond the immediate context in higher education; To focus on the effect of such innovations on teaching and students; To be open to diverse forms of scholarship and research methods by maintaining flexibility in the selection of topics deemed appropriate for the journal; and to strike a balance between practice and theory by presenting manuscripts in a readable and scholarly manner to both faculty and administrators in the academic community.

Innovative Practice in Higher Education The main themes of the journal range from innovative pedagogy to new and improved approaches to Technology Supported Learning and other practitioner methods. It also aims to be a staff development tool supporting all those who wish to submit academic work for peer review and possible publication.

Innovations on Education and Teaching International Innovations in Education and Teaching International is the journal of the Staff and Educational Development Association (SEDA) www.seda.ac.uk. To this end, contributions to the journal should reflect SEDA’s aim to promote innovation and good practice in higher education through staff and educational development and subject-related practices. 

Interdisciplinary Journal of Problem-Based Learning The Interdisciplinary Journal of Problem-Based Learning publishes relevant, interesting, and challenging articles of research, analysis, or promising practice related to all aspects of implementing problem-based learning in K-12 or post-secondary classrooms.

International Journal for Students as Partners The International Journal for Students as Partners (IJSaP) is a new journal about learning and teaching together in higher education. IJSaP explores new perspectives, practices, and policies regarding how students and staff (used here and subsequently to refer to academic staff/faculty, professional staff, and other stakeholders) are working in partnership to enhance learning and teaching in higher education. Shared responsibility for teaching and learning is the underlying premise of students as partners, and IJSaP is produced using a student-staff partnership approach. 

International Journal for the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning, A new, international, peer-reviewed, open access eJournal will be published by the Center for Excellence in Teaching at Georgia Southern University (Statesboro, Georgia, USA) with the inaugural issue scheduled for January 2007. The inaugural issue will contain research articles, essays, personal reflections, and invited essays by Pat Hutchings (Vice President, Carnegie Academy for the Advancement of Teaching) and Caroline Kreber (University of Edinburgh, UK). IJ-SoTL emphasizes that effective teaching is measured by the qualilty and depth of student learning, that it is serious intellectual work that requires sustained and complex work, that it can be opened for conversations and collaborations among colleagues, and that it can be evidence-based through pedagogical research. IJ-SoTL has the vision of being the premier international SoTL journal by being an advocate, agent and crucible for international conversations, contacts and work on SoTL.

International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education The International Journal of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education provides a forum for higher education faculty, staff, administrators, researchers, and students who are interested in improving post-secondary instruction. The IJTLHE provides broad coverage of higher education pedagogy and the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL) across diverse content areas, educational institutions, and levels of instructional expertise.

The International Journal of Instructional Media (IJIM) is the source of cutting edge research and commentary on all forms of instructional media used in instruction and training today. IJIM bridges the gap between theory and practice. The present growth in educational technology confronts you, the instructor, with a vast array of instructional media without clearly defined guidelines as to their optimal use. Primarily, IJIM is concerned with the problem of applying the various distant learning strategies and instructional media to the learning process. Articles discuss specific applications and techniques for bringing the advantages of a particular instructional medium to bear on a complete curriculum system or program.

International Journal of University Teaching and Faculty Development Previously the Journal of Faculty Development.  Reporting the latest in professional development activities at the 2-year college, 4-year college, and university levels. -- A highly successful stand-by that addresses concerns for your most valuable resource, which is people.  It is the one medium in higher education strictly addressing both the practical and theoretical aspects of the planning, design, implementation and evaluation of practices and programs leading to effective and efficient institutions and individuals.

The Internet and Higher Education - is a quarterly journal designed to reach those faculty, staff, and administrators charged with the responsibility of enhancing instructional practices and productivity via the use of Information Technology (IT) and the Internet. The editors invite scholars and researchers to submit high quality article contributions that develop theory as well as improve practice in online learning environments, distance education, Internet technology, computer-mediated learning, Internet technology, innovative instructional practices, information technology planning, and the design and evaluation of online learning environments, among many other topics. See Aims and Scope for more detail about background covered in the journal.

inventio From George Mason University (Virginia, USA), the journal began as part of the Carnegie Foundation's Teaching Academy program and invited contributors to address definitions of the scholarship of teaching and looked at ways that campus practices, policies, and conditions work for or against a scholarship of teaching. Regular issues feature peer-reviewed articles on instructional research, instructional philosophy, pedagogy, learning theory, and other significant issues related to excellence in learning and teaching. In addition to these feature articles, inventio also includes shorter articles on classroom practice and response and dialog sections about issues raised in the feature articles. (Inventio appears to have halted publications, but archives are still available.)

Journal of College Student Retention: Research, Theory & Practice is a scholarly-refereed journal that is published quarterly. The Journal of College Student Retention: Research, Theory & Practice is intended to provide the educational community, federal and state governmental officials and the general public a medium to exhibit and explore the complex issue of student retention and attrition. The Journal will feature articles pertaining to current and new theoretical constructs and current research on student retention and attrition in higher education. In addition, the Journal will provide practitioners an avenue to highlight and disseminate current practices, programs and services, which help students persist. College and university researchers are encouraged to submit manuscripts pertinent to retention and attrition research, theory and practice. In addition manuscripts are encouraged from practitioners relative to programs and services provided to students.

Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication The Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication (JCMC) is a web-based, peer-reviewed scholarly journal. Its focus is social science research on computer-mediated communication via the Internet, the World Wide Web, and wireless technologies. Within that general purview, the journal is broadly interdisciplinary, publishing work by scholars in communication, business, education, political science, sociology, media studies, information science, and other disciplines. Acceptable formats for submission include original research articles, meta-analyses of prior research, synthesizing literature surveys, and proposals for special issues.

The Journal of Continuing Higher Education Review  This journal showcases leading thinkers in continuing, professional, and online education and features in-depth analysis of research and developments within continuing and adult higher education.

The Journal of Diversity in Higher Education is multidisciplinary in perspective and offers research findings, theory, and promising practices to help guide the efforts of institutions of higher education in the pursuit of inclusive excellence.  Journal of Diversity in Higher Education publishes empirical research, literature reviews, and evaluations of promising practices and policies that support efforts to transform institutions, inspire colleagues, engage campus, governmental, and private sector leaders, and articulate culturally competent outcomes.

Journal of Education and Training Studies JETS is an international, peer-reviewed, open-access journal, published by Redfame Publishing. The journal is published monthly in both print and online versions. The journal accepts article submissions online or by e-mail. JETS aims to promote excellence through dissemination of high-quality research findings, specialist knowledge, and discussion of professional issues that reflect the diversity of this field.
 

The Journal of Education Policy The Journal of Education Policy publishes original, critically and theoretically informed research that discusses, analyses and debates policymaking, policy implementation and the impact of policy at all levels and in all facets of formal and informal education. The journal is interested in analysis and theorisation of policy that is transposable, that has generic interest and relevance -  national policy case studies would need to be conceptually and/or methodologically generalisable. The journal also publishes work that presents new methods of research and research studies that are experimental and innovative.

Journal of Effective Teaching The Journal of Effective Teaching is an electronic journal devoted to the exchange of ideas and information about undergraduate and graduate teaching. We invite contributors to share their insights in pedagogy, innovations in teaching and learning, and classroom experiences in the form of a scholarly communication which will be reviewed by experts in teaching scholarship. Articles which draw upon specific-discipline based research or teaching practices should elaborate on how the teaching practice, research or findings relates across the disciplines.

Journal of Faculty Development The Journal of Faculty Development is an independent, peer-reviewed journal published by New Forums Press. Issued three times yearly, it is a medium for the exchange of information regarding faculty development in post-secondary educational institutions. The Journal of Faculty Development invites a wide variety of manuscripts, ranging from research studies (using qualitative or quantitative methodologies) to those focused on theory and philosophy that are related to issues in faculty development, professional development, higher education pedagogy, curriculum, leadership, program design and implementation, and evaluation and assessment.

Journal of Further and Higher Education is an international, peer-reviewed journal which publishes articles and book reviews representing the whole field of post-16 education and training. Topic areas include management and administration, teacher education and training, curriculum, staff and institutional development, and teaching and learning strategies and processes. The journal encourages debate on contemporary pedagogic issues and professional concerns within the UK and abroad. The journal is committed to promoting excellence in these fields by providing a forum for the debate and evaluation of a wide range of pedagogic issues and professional concerns. The majority of articles will take as their focus: Management and administration, particularly cultural and structural development within the system; Curriculum development and its relationship with institutional and staff development; Teaching and learning approaches, strategies and processes.

JGE: The Journal of General Education For faculty, administrators, and policymakers, JGE is the professional forum for discussing issues in general education today. JGE addresses the general education concerns of community colleges, four-year colleges, universities, and state systems. Along with perceptive essays on the role of general education today, JGE features articles on: 1) Innovative methods in teaching and assessment; 2) Profiles of exemplary general education programs; 3) Case studies of successful curriculum development efforts; 4) Reviews of books and monographs related to general education.

Journal of Higher Education is the leading scholarly journal on the institution of higher education. Articles combine disciplinary methods with critical insight to investigate issues important to faculty, administrators, and program managers. Journal Of Higher Education is an independent refereed journal. Through full-length articles, commentary, and book reviews, JHE encourages creation of effective policy solutions and enhancement of professional development in all areas within the university, the four-year college, and the community college.

Journal of Higher Education Outreach and Engagement The mission of the JHEOE is to serve as the premier peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary journal to advance theory and practice related to all forms of outreach and engagement between higher education institutions and communities. This includes highlighting innovative endeavors; critically examining emerging issues, trends, challenges, and opportunities; and reporting on studies of impact in the areas of public service, outreach, engagement, extension, engaged research, community-based research, community-based participatory research, action research, public scholarship, service-learning, and community service.

 

Journal of Higher Education Policy and Management The journal is primarily devoted to the needs of those involved with the administration and study of institutional management in higher education. Articles should be concerned, therefore, with issues bearing on the practical working and policy direction of higher education. Contributions should, however, go beyond mere description of what is, or prescription of what ought to be, although both descriptive and prescriptive accounts are acceptable if they offer generalisations of use in contexts beyond those being described. Whilst articles devoted to the development of theory for its own sake will normally find a place in other and more academically based journals, theoretical treatments of direct use to practitioners will be considered.

The Journal of Online Learning and Teaching  The MERLOT Journal of Online Learning and Teaching (JOLT) is a peer-reviewed, online publication addressing the scholarly use of multimedia resources in education. JOLT welcomes papers on all aspects of the use of multimedia educational resources for learning and teaching. A variety of manuscript types are being sought, including research papers, theoretical/conceptual papers, position papers, case studies, and instructional design notes.

The Journal of Technology Education provides a forum for scholarly discussion on topics relating to technology education. Manuscripts should focus on technology education research, philosophy, and theory. In addition, the Journal publishes book reviews, editorials, guest articles, comprehensive literature reviews, and reactions to previously published articles.

Journal of the European Higher Education Area Overall trends and developments and new approaches to learning and teaching in higher education; how the issues of access, lifelong learning, and student services are dealt with in different parts of Europe; what university leaders think about governance, management and funding, and what are the best institutional structures to support innovative learning and teaching; how quality assurance can enhance teaching and learning; and what the internationalisation of teaching and learning means for the European Higher Education Area.

Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning The Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (JoSoTL) is a forum for the dissemination of the scholarship of teaching and learning in higher education for the community of teacher-scholars. Submissions should be theory-based and supported by evidence. JoSoTL’s objective is to publish articles that promote effective practices in teaching and learning and add to the knowledge base. Themes of the journal reflect breadth of interest in the pedagogy forum and include the following: data-driven studies, reviews, case studies, and invited comments/reviews.

Journal of University Teaching and Learning Practice The Journal of University Teaching and Learning Practice is a peer-reviewed journal publishing papers that add significantly to the body of knowledge describing effective and innovative teaching and learning practice in the higher education environment. The journal aims to provide a forum for educational practitioners in a wide range of disciplines to communicate their teaching and learning outcomes in a scholarly way. Its purpose is to bridge the gap between journals covering purely academic research and more pragmatic articles and opinions published elsewhere.

Journal on Excellence in College Teaching (JECT) The Journal on Excellence in College Teaching is a peer-reviewed journal published at Miami University by and for faculty at universities and two- and four-year colleges to increase student learning through effective teaching, interest in and enthusiasm for the profession of teaching, and communication among faculty about their classroom experiences

Liberal Education of the Association of American Colleges and Universities expresses the voices of educators, faculty and administrators in colleges and universities nationwide who are working to enrich liberal learning and undergraduate education. AAC&U's award-winning journal is the national forum about liberal education - a forum addressing teaching and learning, leadership, faculty innovation, and institutional change all in the service of improving undergraduate education.

MountainRise Originating in the ancient mountains of western North Carolina, MountainRise serves as an international vehicle for the Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (SoTL). The aim of the journal is to foster a higher education culture that embraces innovation in teaching and learning.

New Directions for Teaching and Learning New Directions for Teaching and Learning continues to offer a comprehensive range of ideas and techniques for improving college teaching based on the experience of seasoned instructors and on the latest findings of educational and psychological researchers.

On Campus with Women (OCWW), sponsored by AAC&U's Program on the Status and Education of Women, provides readers with the most up-to-date information on women in higher education. It focuses on women's leadership, the campus climate, curriculum and pedagogy, and new research and data on women. The Fall 2002 issue is our inaugural Online issue; prior to that time OCWW was published in print format.

Peer Review of the Association of American Colleges and Universities provides a quarterly briefing on emerging trends and key debates in undergraduate education. Each issue is focused on a specific topic, provides comprehensive analysis, and features campus perspectives.

Practical Assessment, Research and Evaluation (PARE) is an on-line journal supported, in part, by the Department of Measurement, Statistics, and Evaluation at the University of Maryland, College Park. Its purpose is to provide education professionals access to refereed articles that can have a positive impact on assessment, research, evaluation, and teaching practice, especially at the local education agency (LEA) level.

Research and Practice in College Teaching Research & Practice in College Teaching’s objective is to publish articles focused on promoting student learning. Articles should address themes around promoting effective practices in teaching and learning. The Journal reflects the breadth of the work in the scholarship of teaching and learning. Articles in the following categories are sought: data-driven studies, literature reviews, and case studies.

Research in Higher Education Administration and faculty; curriculum and instruction; student characteristics; alumni assessment; recruitment and admissions; prediction and student academic performance; campus climate; and retention, attrition, and transfer.

Review of Education An international peer reviewed journal for the publication of major and substantial articles of interest to researchers in education and is expected to become a major focal point for the publication of educational research from throughout the world.

Review of Educational Research (RER) publishes critical, integrative reviews of research literature bearing on education. Such reviews should include conceptualizations, interpretations, and syntheses of literature and scholarly work in a field. RER encourages the submission of research relevant to education from any discipline, such as reviews of research in psychology, sociology, history, philosophy, political science, economics, computer science, statistics, anthropology, and biology, provided that the review bears on educational issues.

The Review of Higher Education The Review of Higher Education provides a forum for discussion of issues affecting higher education. The journal advances the study of college and university issues by publishing peer-reviewed articles, essays, reviews, and research findings. Its broad approach emphasizes systematic inquiry and practical implications.

Review of Research in Education It provides an overview and descriptive analysis of selected topics of relevant research literature through critical and synthesizing essays. Articles are usually solicited for specific RRE issues. There may also be calls for papers. RREpromotes discussion and controversy about research problems in addition to pulling together and summarizing the work in a field.

Science, Technology & Human Values is a peer-reviewed, international, interdisciplinary journal containing research, analyses and commentary on the development and dynamics of science and technology, including their relationship to politics, society and culture. The journal provides you with work from scholars in a diverse range of disciplines across the social sciences. Among the disciplines you will find in Science, Technology & Human Values are: Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, Environmental Studies, Anthropology, Literature, History, and Economics.

Scholarship and Practice of Undergraduate Research (SPUR) SPUR publishes scholarly work that examines effective practices and novel approaches, explores pedagogical models, and highlights the results of assessment of undergraduate research. As a peer-reviewed publication of the Council on Undergraduate Research, the journal provides useful and inspiring information that increases  understanding of undergraduate student-faculty engagement in research, scholarship, and creative work in all disciplines and at all types of higher education institutions in the United States and abroad.

Student Engagement in Higher Education Journal An international peer-reviewed journal supporting the work of RAISE. Thus the focus is on student egagement, the active participation of students and staff and students working in partnership. SEHEJ welcomes contributions from all staff and students.

Studies in Higher Education has a wide ranging interest in higher education and the social and institutional contexts within which it takes place, but gives particular emphasis to education as practice, with a view to influencing its development.  It is published eight times a year.

Teaching and Learning Inquiry Teaching and Learning Inquiry (TLI) features original research and commentary on SoTL. TLI publishes insightful research, theory, commentary, and other scholarly works that document or facilitate investigations of teaching and learning in higher education. These may include empirical and interpretive investigations, theoretical analyses, thought-provoking essays, or works employing other genres. TLI showcases the breadth of the interdisciplinary field of SoTL in it’s explicit methodological pluralism, its call for traditional and new genres, and its international authorship.

Times Higher Education Supplement welcomes submissions of articles from educators involved in integrating technology on their campuses and into their curricula. Articles (2,000 - 4,000 words) may describe effective administrative or instructional projects with a local, regional, statewide, national or international scope. Features should address the issue's cover theme and follow our Editorial Guidelines

Teaching in Higher Education Teaching in Higher Education publishes scholarly work that critically examines and interrogates the values and presuppositions underpinning teaching, introduces theoretical perspectives and insights drawn from different disciplinary and methodological frameworks, and considers how teaching and research can be brought into a closer relationship.

Teaching Professor The Teaching Professor is a newsletter (published 10 times annually) that focuses on topics such as instructional technology, faculty mentoring, academic integrity, assessment, course design, student engagement, online education, and even instructor confidence. Articles dig into specific aspects of these broader categories. Authors approach topics from different perspectives and present original ways to consider familiar topics and themes.

Transformative Dialogues: Teaching and Learning Journal TD facilitates the multi-disciplinary intellectual debate and inquiry, exchange of ideas, actions, and results of innovative and professional practice in the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning.

Subject Specific Journals

A

Accounting

Anthropology

 

Architecture

Art


 

B

Behavioral Science

Biology

Business

Business Education

Business, International


 

C

Chemistry

Communications/Speech

Computer Science

D

Dance

E

Economics

Educational Psychology

English

F

Finance

G

Geography

Geology

H

History

 

J

Journalism/Mass Communication

M

Management

Marketing

Mathematics

Medicine and Related Fields

Modern Languages

Museums and Gallaries

Music

N

Nursing

P

Philosophy

Physical Education

Physics

Political Science

Psychology

S

Science

Social Studies

Sociology

Statistics

T

Theater

W

Women's Education