Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Explore - the Library Catalogue
Explore lists all the print and electronic resources in all 18 UCL Libraries (including the IOE's Library).
Lists the IOE archive collections. Excludes Special Collections.
Use this to access documents published by government and other related bodies on education, training, children and families.
Finds journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, reviews, theses and dissertations.
Use this search to find IOE and UCL full-text online journals.
Use this to find all online education official publications by the UK government and related bodies.
Searches all subscribed resources including selected databases and UCL eJournals.
Searches all 18 UCL libraries. Contains links to print and electronic resources.
About Sources for Historical Inquiry
History allows us to question our understanding of why things are the way they are and the assumptions we make. History enables us to foster a long view of social, political, economic and cultural issues that we would no consider if we simply take for granted the so-called facts, which may simply be interpretations - and which are so easily found on the internet.
This guide attempts to bring together print and online sources from the different collections at UCL, IOE and in the other libraries that form part of UCL Library Services. There is also a list of freely available digital resources and links to other library collections around Bloomsbury. The guide is aimed at scholars who intend to use historical inquiry in their research.
The Value of Historical Inquiry
In 1949, George Orwell wrote, "Who controls the past controls the future, who controls the present controls the past" (Nineteen Eighty Four).
Thirty years later, Raymond Williams author of Keywords (1983) wrote, "history ...teaches or shows us most kinds of knowable past and almost every kind of imaginable future". In Keywords, Williams looks at the etymology of words. Through his study of the words, he shows us that just as things come into and out of fashion, so do words and the meanings of these words change over time.
Life and Narrative by
Publication Date: 2017
The challenge of life and literary narrative is the central and perennial mystery of how people encounter, manage, and inhabit a self and a world of their own - and others' - creations. With a nod to the eminent scholar and psychologist Jerome Bruner, Life and Narrative: The Risks andResponsibilities of Storying Experience explores the circulation of meaning between experience and the recounting of that experience to others.
The authors reject the simple binary and masterfully incorporate a more nuanced approach that has more descriptive appeal and theoretical traction for readers.
Featured Resource: DERA
The featured resource for this month is DERA which stands for Digital Education Resource Archive.
DERA is a digital archive of all official/governent documents published electronically by the UK governrment and related bodies in the area of education. DERA is accessible from http://dera.ioe.ac.uk.
You can now text your enquiry to
+44 (0)20 3322 1810 or click on
Alternatively, you can chat with us. Please note that LibAnswers and LibChat operate at the same time as the Enquiry Desk opening hours.