Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Journal of Moral Education: The Journal of Moral Education

An introduction to the JME archive

History

The Journal of Moral Education was inaugurated in 1971 in the UK with the support of the Social Morality Council, an organisation which promoted and campaigned for school curriculum developments in the areas of personal and social morality.

In 1997/1998 the journal became a registered company and also obtained charitable status becoming the Journal of Moral Education Trust with strong links to the Association of Moral Education.

The Journal sought to strike a balance between philosophical questions relating to moral education and research based on actual classroom experience. As such, the Journal aimed to appeal to teachers, on a practical level, as well as expanding the concept of moral education through academic research across a broad range of disciplines. To accommodate this level of diversity, the journal became an international, multi-disciplinary resource driven by the unifying goal to 'advance public education and promote research in the theory and practice of moral education'.

The Collection

This collection documents the Journal’s organisational policies and procedures giving specific insight into the conceptual processes of the organisation and more general insight into the running of an academic journal. There is an interesting range of materials in the collection, including an extensive selection of meeting minutes (ranging from 1974 to 2012), promotional materials, legal documentation, conference programmes and selected special issue publications.

The Journal of Moral Education collection can be viewed in our archive catalogue.

Also see...

Progressive Education
by IOE Archives Team - Last Updated Oct 24, 2014
A resource guide helping you to locate archive material related to progressive education
Tags: child centred education, experimental schools, progressive education, social-reconstructionism

Image from the Archives

Front cover of the Journal of Moral Education

Promotional Image used by the Journal of Moral Education (JME/3/1)

Subject Guide

Contact the archive team

Telephone us on:

020 7612 6983

or e-mail our dedicated enquiry service at ioe.arch-enquiries@ucl.ac.uk.

You can also write to us at:

Newsam Library and Archives
UCL Institute of Education
University College London
20 Bedford Way
London
WC1H 0AL