Skip to main content

Official Publications: Accessing the collection

Introduction

Examples of Official Publications items.

The UCL Institute of Education Official Publications Collection relates directly to state education in the United Kingdom from its earliest origins in the 19th century to the present day. It is an almost comprehensive collection of official reports, legislation and other publications on education and related subjects. The collection is supplemented by the inclusion of selected materials published by regulatory bodies and quangos as well as collections of material produced by selected local authorities, political parties and trade unions.

Finding Official Publications using UCL Explore

The Library still collects government publications in print when they are available. Most publications are stored in our library stores . These resources are reference only and must be requested in advance at the Library Enquiry Desk or via the online request form on UCL Explore.

UCL Explore is a discovery tool that allows you to search multiple resources simultaneously. You can use the filters available on this resource to find resources from our printed Official Publications Collection, digital versions of government documents via DERA and a wide range of additional material including open access resources.

Refine your results using the filters on the left hand side of the results page:

Explore results page with filters on the left side.

ProQuest U.K Parliamentary Papers (formerly House of Commons Parliamentary Papers online)

The UK Parliamentary Papers online database provides access to over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present day and is now available using the ProQuest Government Platform.

Since its migration to ProQuest, the search interface has been uppdated, introducing a new range of search options. Proquest have provided a comprehensive overview on the new search strategies you can employ via this LibGuide ‚Äč. Changes to the database include the ability to bookmark your searches, read accounts of debates and access profiles of Members of Parliament. In addition the papers themselves will be presented as full-text PDF's instead of individual page images.

Access to this database requires the use of your UCL credentials. Go to the UCL Databases Page and select House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from the A-Z list of databases.

DERA

Houses of Parliament.

Whilst the Library continues to collect print publications, Government bodies are publishing an ever increasing amount of material electronically. In theory, this means that there is a greater degree of access to official publications. However documents can sometimes be hard to find or even 'disappear' as organisations are restructured, merged or even closed.                                    

In response to this issue the Library has developed DERA - a fully searchable digital archive for born digital publications in the subject area of education.

See our DERA LibGuide for more information.

 

Search DERA