Skip to main content

Official Publications: Other resources

Additional Resources

There are a wide variety of resources available to the researcher working with Official Publications. This page highlights other useful sources of information.

Featured Publication

Education Law Blog

The Education Law Blog is maintained by 11KBW. See below for the most recent posts.

Loading ...

Education in England

The Education in England website contains a wealth of original source material relating to the development of England's school system. This includes full texts of Reports, Official Papers and Acts of Parliament.

UK Government Web Archive

The UK Government Web Archive is dedicated to preserving UK central government websites and their social media presence. 

You can search the the UK Government Web Archive and a document providing useful tips on using this resource is also available. 

The Cabinet Papers 1915-1988: Education: The National Archives

Access a range of Cabinet Papers related to education. Organised thematically, this open access resource provides access to documents related to the major education reforms of the twentieth century: Browse Cabinet Papers related to education.

The Hansard Corpus

Created as part of the SAMUELS project, The Hansard Corpus contains nearly every speech given in the British Parliament between 1803-2005.

You can search by speaker, look for the frequency of a word or phrase over time, investigate alterations in the usage and meaning of words and also limit and compare search terms by decade, house or party in power. More information on getting the most out of the resource is available in the overview.

Search the Hansard Corpus.

All Party Parliamentary Groups

All Party Parliamentary Groups are informal cross-party groups that have no official status within Parliament. APPGs will usually consist of members of the House of Commons and the House of Lords. In addition, APPGs often involve organisations such as campaign groups, charities, and other non-governmental bodies from outside Parliament in their administration and activities. 

The Register of All Party Groups [as at 3rd February 2016] is available on the Parliament.uk website. 

HESA Statistics

The Higher Education Statistics Agency collects a wide range of data from universities and other providers of higher education every year. Some publications are freely available.

Staff or students of UCL are able to access additional datasets via the UCL Library Services Databases page (you will need your UCL credentials to access the data).

Education Statistics: UK

Below is a selection of sources for education statistics in England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

Print Still Matters

Print Still Matters contains details on which libraries in the United Kingdom hold print collections of publications issued by the UK Parliament, UK Government, and the Devolved Assemblies, Parliaments, and Administrations of Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. The site was initiaited and is maintained by representativies of the Standing Committee on Official Publications (SCOOP).