Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Searching for Resources: Databases

Databases

A database is an excellent way to find journal articles, conference papers, theses and other types of publications. As the most up-to-date research is published at conferences and in journals, databases are vital research tools. There are many databases covering a range of different subject areas so you will need to decide which are most appropriate to your needs.  Watch this very short UCL video for an introduction to databases. 

To access any of the databases that are available to UCL staff and students, go to the UCL Databases page.

Screenshot of the UCL databases page.

Education Databases

Although you have access to many databases, there are some databases that are core to the subject of education rather than covering a wide range of subject areas.  Go to the UCL Databases page to find the following:

  • British Education Index (BEI) (EBSCO).                                           
  • ERIC (EBSCO).
  • ERIC (Proquest).
  • Australian Education Index (AEI) (Proquest).
  • Child Development & Adolescent Studies (EBSCO).
  • Digital Education Resource Archive (DERA).
  • Education Abstracts (EBSCO).
  • Education Database.
  • Educational Administration Abstracts (EBSCO).
  • German Education Portal.
  • HESA (Higher Education Statistics Agency) Databases.
  • IDP Database of Research on International Education.

British Education Index & Thesaurus

The British Education Index (BEI) provides information on research, policy and practice in education and training in the UK. It covers all aspects of education from preschool to higher education from sources mostly published in the UK although the BEI does include international literature. Publication types include:

  • Journal articles.
  • Theses and dissertations.
  • Conferences.
  • Symposia.
  • Meetings.
  • Books.
  • Reports.

For more information about this database, go to the IOE BEI Libguide.

ERIC & Thesaurus

The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a database of over a 1.5 million references. Sponsored by the US Institute of Education Sciences and the US Department of Education, ERIC claims to be the 'world's largest digital library of education literature'.  ERIC holds some full-text materials free of charge and encompasses bibliographic records indexed since 1966 including journal articles, books, research findings, conference papers, technical reports and policy papers.

ERIC is available freely and via Proquest for UCL students and staff:

For more information about this database, go to the IOE ERIC Libguide.

 

 

Scopus 

Scopus is a multidisciplinary database including over 70 million records, with content from over 5,000 publishers, covering:

  • Science.
  • Mathematics.
  • Engineering.
  • Technology.
  • Health and medicine.
  • Social sciences. 
  • Humanities.

For more information about this database, go to the IOE Scopus Libguide.

Web of Science

The Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) covers the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Databases included are:

  • Science Citation Index Expanded with Cited References (1970 onwards).
  • Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded with Cited References (1970 onwards).
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index with Cited References (1975 onwards).
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Science edition (1990 onwards).
  • Conference Proceedings Citation Index - Social Science + Humanities edition (1990 onwards).

For more information about this database, go to the IOE Web of Science Libguide.